Seven Bombers make all-district first team in football

Joe Randleman
Tri-County Times
Kale Krogh

Ballard had seven players chosen to the Class 3A District 2 all-district first team in football by the district coaches in 2020.

Junior offensive lineman Kale Krogh, senior quarterback Connor Drew, senior safety Mason Murphy, junior defensive back Colby Calvert, senior linebacker Logan Harmeyer, senior defensive back Kyler Watson and senior linebacker Jeremiah Wilkinson were the Bombers chosen to the all-district first team.

Mason Murphy

Krogh anchored a Ballard offensive line that paved the way for 32.2 points and 343 yards per game in district play and Drew threw for 761 yards and 11 touchdowns and added 217 yards and three scores rushing. Murphy tallied 27.5 tackles and one interception, Calvert 15.5 tackles and four interceptions, Harmeyer 21.5 tackles, Watson 12 tackles and two interceptions and Wilkinson 37.5 stops.

Connor Drew

Senior running back Sam Petersen, senior defensive lineman Austin Nelson, junior defensive lineman Nick Wacha and senior defensive back Connor Finch were all named honorable mention from Ballard.

Petersen ran for 296 yards and two touchdowns and added two touchdowns receiving. Nelson recorded 16.5 tackles and five stops behind the line, Wacha 16.5 tackles and a fumble recovery and Finch 19 tackles, three interceptions, two defensive touchdowns and a fumble recovery.

Webster City senior linebacker Trey Mathis was named the 3A District 2 Defensive Player of the Year. Humboldt junior quarterback Caden Matson was tabbed as the Offensive Player of the Year,  Gilbert junior kicker Evan Weary Kicker of the Year and Mason City senior punter Eric Lensing Punter of the Year.

Webster City head coach Bob Howard was selected as Coach of the Year after leading the Lynx to the district title with a perfect 5-0 record.

All-Class 3A District 2 football teams

First team: Jayden Angle (Jr., LB), Boone; Joe Larimore (Jr., OL/DL), Gilbert; Tegan Bock (Sr., WR/DB), Boone; Jake Lenning (Sr., LB), Humboldt; Colby Calvert (Jr., DB), Ballard; Nolan Mueller (Sr., LB), Gilbert; Connor Drew (Sr., QB), Ballard; Mason Murphy (Sr., S) Ballard; Sam Fischer (Sr., DL), Humboldt; Tyler Olson (Sr., DB), Webster City; Garrison Frese (Sr., OL/DL), Boone; Ben Pederson (Sr., OL), Mason City; Bo Gidel (Jr., LB),  Gilbert; Branson Peters (Jr., LB), Mason City; Gabe Gidel (Sr., HB/UTL), Humboldt; Tanner McKimmey (Jr., LB), Humboldt; Carter Gorder (Jr., OL), Mason City; Chase Rattenborg (Sr., RB), Webster City; Connor Hanson (So., DL), Webster City; Trey Shannon, (Sr., OL), Webster City; Trey Hanson (Sr., WR/DB), Gilbert; Jamin Stuhr (Jr., DE), Webster City; Tucker Hanson (Sr., WR/DB), Gilbert; Carter Thomas (Jr., WR), Mason City; Logan Hameyer (Sr., LB), Ballard; Jack Van Diest (Sr., LB), Webster City; Truman Klein (Jr., OL), Webster City; Kyler Watson (Sr., DB), Ballard; Kale Krogh (Jr., OL), Ballard; Jeremiah Wilkinson (Sr., LB), Ballard; Ben Kuehnast (Jr., OL), Humboldt; Jahmen Zimmerman (Sr., DL), Mason City.

Honorable mention: Connor Finch (Sr., DB), Ballard; Nyzier Evans (Sr., WR), Humboldt; Austin Nelson (Sr., DL), Ballard; Jake Heier (Jr., WR), Humboldt; Sam Petersen (Sr., RB/DL), Ballard; Carson Berte (Jr., DB), Humboldt; Nick Wacha (Jr., DL), Ballard; Tracen Troyer, (Jr., OL), Humboldt; Cole Burge (Sr., Ath.), Boone; Ben Amundson (Sr., RB), Mason City; Sam Freund (Sr., OL/LB), Boone; Connor Dalen (Sr., FS), Mason City; Garrett McKnight (Sr., WR/DB), Boone; Taylor Warple (Jr., LB), Mason City; Marcus McPartland (Sr., WR/DB), Boone; Michael Willis (Jr., DL), Mason City; Joe Drzycimski (Sr., WR), Gilbert; CJ Hisler (So., RB), Webster City; Tanner Henningsen (Sr., QB), Gilbert; Beau Klaver (Jr., OL), Webster City; Alex Hergenreter (Sr., OL), Gilbert; Tyler McKinney (So., QB), Webster City; Cayden Meskan (Sr., DL), Gilbert; Neven Stark (Sr., OL), Webster City.

Offensive POY: Caden Matson (Jr., QB), Humboldt.

Defensive POY: Trey Mathis (Sr., LB), Webster City.

Kicker of the Year: Evan Weary (Jr., PK), Gilbert.

Punter of the Year: Eric Lensing (Sr., P), Mason City.

Coach of the Year: Bob Howard, Webster City.

Final 3A District 2 standings

Webster City 5-0

Ballard 4-1

Gilbert 2-2

Mason City 1-3

Humboldt 2-3

Boone 0-5