Spartans’ Vanderwal qualifies for state: C-M girls just miss with third-place finish

Joe Randleman
Tri-County Times
Collins-Maxwell's Kyle Vanderwal begins the final stretch of the boys' race at the Class 1A state qualifying meet in Guthrie Center Friday. Vanderwal qualified for state after placing fifth individually.

GUTHRIE CENTER - Collins-Maxwell pushed its first runner through to state in the boys’ competition and the Spartan girls just missed out making as a team at the Class 1A state qualifying cross country meet in Guthrie Center Friday.

Kyle Vanderwal became the first runner since the start of the program in 2018 to make state. The top 10 individual runners at the qualifying meets in 1A advance to state and Vanderwal placed fifth Friday with a strong 5-kilometer time of 18 minutes, 20.20 seconds.

“We were a little worried at the start of the season as Kyle came into the season with not as many miles as we wanted for his summer training,” Collins-Maxwell head coach Jerry Meinerts said. “But he was determined to get in shape, continued to work hard and things really fell into place for him.  We are happy that he gets to finish his high school cross country career at the state meet next weekend.”

Tri-Center’s Brett McGee, ranked 29th in 1A, won the boys’ individual title at the meet with a time of 17:29.41. Adair-Casey/Guthrie Center’s Trevin Suhr, ranked 21st, was second in 17:29.41.

The only other runners to finish ahead of Vanderwal were East Marshall’s Joseph Terrones and IKM’s Quentin Dreyer. Terrones ran a 17:46.67 and Dreyer a 17:56.42.

As a team Collins-Maxwell placed seventh out 13 scored schools in the boys’ race. ACGC, the No. 11 team in 1A, won the boys’ title at Guthrie Center with 48 points and East Marshall was the other team to qualify after placing second with a score of 73.

“Our guys ran well today,” Meinerts said. “We were missing our other Senior Jacob Pierick.  The rest of these guys I guarantee will come back next season even faster.  I can't wait to see what the future has in store for them next season.”

Ethan Haus took 30th in 19:27.43 as the second Spartan runner to finish the boys’ race. Austin Hennick came in 38th at 20:10.49, Hunter Lee 56th in 21:19.31 and Marshall Day 78th in 22:46.60 as the other runners on the team to score.

Parker Lawrence was 89th in 23:59.42 and Kaleb Ruiz-Genovese 90th in 24:04.19.

In the girls’ competition Collins-Maxwell fell painfully short of making state as a team. The Spartan girls were third with 106 points, coming in just eight points behind Montezuma for the final of the two qualifying spots.

“This is the second year in a row that we've been within nine points of qualifying,” Meinerts said. “The difference in the meet was Montezuma had two girls in the top 10 and our top runner was 17th.  We had six girls in front of their fifth girl, but just didn't have our front runner closer to their lead pack.  I can't fault our girls as I know that they ran their absolute best that they could today.  We've had an awesome season and I'm quite proud of all their accomplishments this season.”

Alexis Houge led the Collins-Maxwell girls with a 17th-place time of 23:02.17. Morgan Day and Meyaurah Pratt came in 20th and 21t with respective times of 23:15.50 and 23:26.92, Avery Fricke was 24th in 23:29.92 and Erica Houge took 29th in 23:46.30 as the other runners to score for Collins-Maxwell.

Karley Ruiz-Genovese was neck-and-neck with Erica Hogue for the final scoring spot on the team, finishing 30th in 23:48.00. Ashlyn Davis placed 42nd in 24:51.09.

Tri-Center’s Peyton Pogge, rated 13th, won the girls’ race in 19:56.98. ACGC’s Rylee Sloss, ranked eighth, was second in 20:33.67.

The 1A boys’ race at state will take place this Saturday at Kennedy Park in Fort Dodge. The race is set to start at 4 p.m.


Final team scores

Girls: 1. ACGC 51 points, 2. Montezuma 98, 3. Collins-Maxwell 106, 4. Tri-Center 115, 5. Lynnville-Sully 133, 6. East Marshall 156, 7. Pleasantville 180, 8. Baxter 180, 9. Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton 236, 10. Grand View Christian 250, 11. Cam 256, 12. Colo-NESCO 274, 13. Colfax-Mingo 374.

Boys: 1. ACGC 48 , 2. East Marshall 73, 3. IKM 80, 4. Tri-Center 104, 5. Montezuma 174, 6. Grand View Christian 192, 7. Collins-Maxwell 196, 8. Colo-NESCO 200, 9. Lynnville-Sully 204, 10. Colfax-Mingo 248, 11. Cam 298, 12. Pleasantville 302, 13. Baxter 388.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Collins-Maxwell

Girls: 17. Alexis Houge, 23:02.17; 20. Morgan Day, 23:15.50; 21. Meyaurah Pratt, 23:26.92; 24. Avery Fricke, 23:29.92; 29. Erica Houge, 23:46.30; 30. Karley Ruiz-Genovese, 23:48.00; 42. Ashlyn Davis, 24:51.09.

Boys: 5. Kyle Vanderwal, 18:20.20; 30. Ethan Haus, 19:47.23; 38. Austin Hennick, 20:10.49; 56. Hunter Lee, 21:19.31; 78. Marshall Day, 22:46.60; 89. Parker Lawrence, 23:59.42; 90. Kaleb Ruiz-Genovese, 24:04.19.