Spartan girls win ISC cross country title: C-M boys place second

Joe Randleman
Tri-County Times
Kyle Vanderwal

WAVERLY - The Collins-Maxwell girls won a conference championship and produced a school-record time and the Spartan boys placed second with two top-10 individuals at the Iowa Star Conference meet Oct. 15.

The Spartan girls scored 25 points to easily top Baxter’s runner-up score of 59 for the championship. They did it by placing four runners in the top 10 and two more in the top 15.

“I am super-excited for our girls team winning the conference championship,” Collins-Maxwell head coach Jerry Meinerts. “The past three weeks we have been clicking on all cylinders.  We've been working extremely hard in practice and hitting our times in all workouts. All that hard work is really starting to pay off.  All of our girls ran their season best times tonight.”

Alexis Houge set the tone for Collins-Maxwell. She ran a school-record 5-kilometer time of 21 minutes, 50.06 seconds, breaking the record of 22:00.04 set by her teammate Avery Fricke last season.

Alexis Houge

North Tama’s Grace Lidgett (19:51.65), Baxter’s Elie Tuhn (20:07.93), Janesville’s Paige Feldmann (21:19.32) and Baxter’s Kailee Conradi (21:27.81) were the four runners to finish ahead of Houge.

Morgan Day placed eighth for Collins-Maxwell with a strong 22:16.22 showing. Meyaurah Pratt stepped up with a ninth-place time of 22:21.17 and Fricke was 10th in 22:22.97.

Erica Houge was the final Spartan to pick up points after finishing 12th in 22:42.76. Karly Ruiz-Genovese was right behind Houge in 13th place with a 23:04.58 showing and Ashlyn Davis took 19th in 23:55.63.

Sarah Tschantz (25:11.40) and Leah Davis (27:20.87) finished 29th and 39th respectively for the Spartan girls.

In the boys’ race Collins-Maxwell scored 47 points to come in 10 points behind 15th-ranked Valley Lutheran’s winning score. Colo-NESCO took third out of seven scored teams with 63 points.

“I'm very pleased with our boys’ performance tonight,” Meinerts said. “All 10 of our boys ran their best times on the season.  We knew that we would have to run a perfect race and have some of Valley's guys not run their best, but they ran well and we were happy to run within 10 points of them.  We've had some really great practices these past three weeks and look to be in great shape heading into the state qualifier meet next week at ACGC.”

Kyle Vanderwal was runner up for the Collins-Maxwell boys with an impressive 5k time of 17:19.13. He had just broken 18 minutes for the first time 10 days prior at the North Polk Invitational.

Valley Lutheran’s Isaac Natvig, ranked 27th in 1A, was the ISC boys’ champion with a time of 17:06.98.

Ethan Haus also placed in the top 10 for the Collins-Maxwell boys. Haus finished eighth in 18:22.21. Austin Hennick stepped up with his best race of the season to take 12th in 19:12.94 and Jacob Pierick came in 14th with a 19:15.88 showing.

Hunter Lee also scored points for the Spartan boys, taking 26th in 20:15.83. Marshall Day was 32nd in 21:34.50, Kaleb Ruiz-Genovese 52nd in 23:29.73, Parker Lawrence 53rd in 23:48.57, Zach Haus 55th in 23:52.29 and Isaiah Hill 58th in 26:23.07.

The Collins-Maxwell teams next compete in the 1A state qualifying meet at Adair-Casey/Guthrie Center next Thursday. The meet will begin at 4 p.m. in Guthrie Center.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. Collins-Maxwell 25 points, 2. Baxter 59, 3. Clarksville 68, 4. Colo-NESCO 96, 5. Riceville 113.

Boys: 1. Valley Lutheran 37, 2. Collins-Maxwell 47, 3. Colo-NESCO 63, 4. Tripoli 115, 5. Dunkerton 118, 6. GMG 151, 7. Baxter 157.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Collins-Maxwell

Girls: 5. Alexis Houge, 21:50.06; 8. Morgan Day, 22:16.22; 9. Meyaurah Pratt, 22:21.17; 10. Avery Fricke, 22:22.97; 12. Erica Houge, 22:42.76; 13. Karly Ruiz-Genovese, 23:04.58; 19. Ashlyn Davis, 23:55.63; 29. Sarah Tschantz, 25:11.40; 39. Leah Davis, 27:20.87.

Boys: 2. Kyle Vanderwal, 17:19.13; 8. Ethan Haus, 18:22.21; 12. Austin Hennick, 19:12.94; 14. Jacob Pierick, 19:15.88; 26. Hunter Lee, 20:15.83; 32. Marshall Day, 21:34.50;  52. Kaleb Ruiz-Genovese, 23:29.73; 53. Parker Lawrence, 23:48.57; 55. Zach Haus, 23:52.29; 58. Isaiah Hill, 26:23.07.