Three Bombers named all-RRC in softball

Joe RandlemanStaff Writer

The Ballard softball team put three players on the all-Raccoon River Conference softball teams in 2016, including one first-team selection.

Senior second baseman Olivia Hall made the all-RRC first team from Ballard. Fellow senior Kennedy Newell was made the all-RRC second team and eighth-grade catcher Skylar Rigby was named honorable mention.

Hall hit .409 with a .545 slugging average, six doubles and five runs going up against several elite Class 4A teams in RRC play. Hall also made 25 putouts and 19 assists against just four errors in the field.

The other all-RRC first-team choices were: Carlisle juniors Agatha Beier and Taylor Dubois and seniors Gabby Schnathorst and Mackenzie Lose; Winterset sophomore Danny Barker and junior Macy Johnson; Boone senior Breanna Hunter and junior Dianna Slight; Adel-Desoto-Minburn seniors Molly Jacobsen and Shannon Jones and Perry junior Emma Olejniczak. Beier, Hunter, Jacobsen, Johnson, Olejniczak, Schnathorst and Slight were all unanimous picks.

Newell hit .320 with four runs and three doubles against RRC competition. She also made 25 putouts, one assist and only two errors in the outfield.

The rest of the all-RRC second team included: Bondurant-Farrar senior Erin Handley and junior Kenzie Adkins; Boone junior Laura Anderson and sophomore Laura Calkins; Winterset seniors Alexis Clouse and Kylie McDonald; Carlisle freshman Alyvia Dubois and senior Cortney Joiner; ADM seniors Gabbie Glenn and Montana Popp; Perry sophomore Johanna Diw and junior Rachel Kinney and Carroll junior Karlee Jones.

Rigby had a fantastic first season behind the plate for Ballard. She hit .279 with a home run and eight RBI and threw out six runners with nine putouts behind the plate versus RRC foes.

Carlisle head coach Jim Flaws was named RRC Coach of the Year. Flaws led the Wildcats to another RRC title with a 13-2 conference record and they went on to finish runner-up at state in 4A.

All-RRC softball teams

First team: Danny Barker (So.), Winterset; Agatha Beier (Jr.)*, Carlisle; Taylor Dubois (Jr.), Carlisle; Olivia Hall (Sr.), Ballard; Breanna Hunter (Sr.)*, Boone; Molly Jacobsen (Sr.)*, ADM; Macy Johnson (Jr.)*, Winterset; Shannon Jones (Sr.), ADM; Mackenzie Lose (Sr.), Carlisle; Emma Olejniczak (Jr.)*, Perry; Gabby Schnathorst (Sr.)*, Carlisle; Dianna Slight (Jr.)*, Boone.

Second team: Kenzie Adkins (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Laura Anderson (Jr.), Boone; Laura Calkins (So.), Boone; Alexis Clouse (Sr.), Winterset; Johanna Diw (So.), Perry; Alyvia Dubois (Fr.), Carlisle; Gabbie Glenn (Sr.), ADM; Erin Handley (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Cortney Joiner (Sr.), Carlisle; Karlee Jones (Jr.), Carroll; Rachel Kinney (Jr.), Perry; Kylie McDonald (Sr.), Winterset; Kennedy Newell (Sr.), Ballard; Montana Popp (Sr.), ADM.

Honorable mention: Alyssa Brown (Sr.), Carlisle; Kila Carbine (Jr.), ADM; Sydney Carroll (So.), Bondurant-Farrar; Stefanie Davis (Sr.), Boone; Isla Ekstam (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Victoria Hegstrom (Sr.), Perry; Alyssa Kruger (So.), Perry; Taylor Lux (So.), Carroll; Ashley Onken (8th grade), Carroll; Skylar Rigby (8th grade), Ballard; Sophie Stover (So.), Winterset; Jordan Trowbridge (So.), Boone.

*Denotes unanimous selection

RRC Coach of the Year - Jim Flaws, Carlisle.

Final RRC standings

Carlisle 13-1

Winterset 12-2

ADM 11-3

Boone 8-6

Ballard 5-9

Perry 5-9

Bondurant-Farrar 0-12

Carroll 0-12