People News

Staff Writer
Tri-County Times

Chris Schreier and Katelyn Smith, both from Cambridge, received baccalaureate degrees at Grand View University commencement ceremonies held on Saturday, April 30. Smith graduated cum laude.

Alexandria Sturtz, a 2016 graduate of North Polk High School, has been awarded the F. William Beckwith Scholarship through the Iowa Grocers Education Foundation for the 2016-2017 academic year. Sturtz was chosen for the $2,000 scholarship from an applicant pool of more than 400 students. IGEF scholarships are awarded based on academic merit to sons and daughters of full-time employees whose firms are members of the Iowa Grocery Industry Association.

Sturtz, who is majoring in microbiology and will be a freshman at the University of Iowa this fall, received the F. William Beckwith Scholarship as an employee of Fareway in Ankeny.

Jameson Hudson of Maxwell graduated from the AIB College of Business on May 22 with an Associate in Applied Science degrees in business administration and leadership.

Kara J. Andersen and Ann E. Houlette, both of Huxley were named to Northwest Missouri State University’s academic honor roll at the end of the 2016 spring trimester. To be included on the academic honor roll, a student must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours and attain a GPA of 3.50 or above on a 4.00 scale.

Hannah J. Goetz of Polk City has been named to the Northwest Missouri State University president’s honor roll at the end of the 2016 spring trimester. Students so named have attained a perfect 4.00 GPA for the trimester.