ALLEMAN – North Polk earned a hard-fought 42-39 victory over Collins-Maxwell-Baxter in an exciting Heart of Iowa Conference wrestling dual Dec. 12 at Alleman.

The two teams competed with Gilbert in a triangular meet. Gilbert defeated CMB by a 48-36 score and North Polk by a 59-15 margin.

Both North Polk and CMB picked up six victories on the mat and one forfeit in their dual meet. But North Polk ended up with one more pin as all six Comet wins came via fall and CMB tallied five pins and one win by decision, which turned out to be the difference.

Austin Smith (120 pounds), Isaac Sharp (132), Jake Grim (145), Luke Jacobs (170), Ben Bruggeman (220) and T.J. Krehbeil (285) earned the victories for North Polk. Smith pinned CMB’s Lane Howes in two minutes 45 seconds, Sharp toppled Bailey Holgate in 4:39, Grim downed Nick Leonard in 35 seconds, Jacobs stuck Blake Coughenour in 1:59, Bruggeman took care of Archer McFadden in 2:17 and Krehbeil defeated Dawson Dahlke in 57 seconds.

Chase Erickson received the forfeit for North Polk at 106.

Jake Hennick (113), Frank Mittlestadt (152), Jordan Coughenour (160), Shane White (182) and Charles Robertson (195) picked up the pins for CMB. Hennick whipped Gabe Surles in 1:32, Mittlestadt downed Graham Hoshaw in 40 seconds, Coughenour ousted Dalton Hutchison in 2:35, White defeated Jake Cory in 1:50 and Robertson stuck Travis Jacobs in 3:43.

Even Bianchi earned CMB’s victory by decision as he prevailed by an 11-5 score over North Polk’s Cody Meiners at 138. Beau Iske received CMB’s forfeit at 126.

In North Polk’s loss to Gilbert, the Comets picked up two pins and one victory by decision.

Jacobs pinned Gilbert’s David Zenor in 1:28 at 170 and Krehbeil stuck the Tigers’ Eli Harris in 59 seconds at 285. Erickson won a 4-3 battle with Gilbert’s Sinjin Briggs at 106.

CMB earned six pins in its loss to Gilbert. Hennick stuck Brandon Crow in one minute flat, Iske took care of Anthony Dickerson in 2:59; Holgate pinned Stephen Moore in 2:13; Jordan Coughenour took care of Hasstedt in 3:37, Blake Coughenour whipped Robert Thomas in 1:20 and Dahlke disposed of Harris in 54 seconds.

North Polk 42, CMB 39

106 pounds – Chase Erickson (NP) won by forfeit; 113 – Jake Hennick (CMB) won by fall over Gabe Surles (NP), 1:32; 120 – Austin Smith (NP) won by fall over Lane Howes (CMB), 2:45; 126 – Beau Iske (CMB) won by forfeit; 132 – Isaac Sharp (NP) won by fall over Bailey Holgate (CMB), 4:39; 138 – Even Bianchi (CMB) won by decision over Cody Meiners (NP), 11-5; 145 – Jake Grim (NP) won by fall over Nick Leonard (CMB), 0:35; 152 – Frank Mittlestadt (CMB) won by fall over Graham Hoshaw (NP), 0:40; 160 – Jordan Coughenour (CMB) won by fall over Dalton Hutchison (NP), 2:35; 170 – Luke Jacobs (NP) won by fall over Blake Coughenour (CMB), 1:59; 182 – Shane White (CMB), won by fall over Jake Cory (NP), 1:50; 195 – Charles Robertson (CMB) won by fall over Travis Jacobs (NP), 3:43; 220 – Ben Bruggeman (NP) won by fall over Archer McFadden (CMB), 2:17; 285 – T.J. Krehbeil (NP) won by fall over Dawson Dahlke (CMB), 0:57.

Gilbert 59, North Polk 15

106 – Erickson (NP) won by decision over Sinjin Briggs (G), 4-3; 113 – Stephen Shuka (G) won by major decision over A. Smith (NP), 12-0; 120 – Matthew Shuka (G) won by forfeit; 126 – Jake Larimore (G) won by forfeit; 132 – Stephen Moore (G) won by fall over Sharp (NP), 2:54; 138 – Wyatt Rhoads (G) won by forfeit; 145 – Adam Davis (G) won by fall over Grim (NP), 3:54; 152 – Tristan Gibson (G) won by decision over C. Smith (NP), 13-11; 160 – Jaden Hasstedt (G) won by forfeit; 170 – Jacobs (NP) won by fall over David Zenor (G), 1:28; 182 – Christian Harder (G) won by fall over D. Hutchison (NP), 0:14; 195 – Kelly Pierce (G) won by fall over T. Jacobs (NP), 5:45; 220 – Brady Kline (G) won by major decision over Bruggeman (NP), 9-1; 285 – Krehbeil (NP) won by fall over Eli Harris (G), 0:59.

Gilbert 48, CMB 36

106 – Briggs (G) won by forfeit; 113 – Hennick (CMB) won by fall over Brandon Crow (G), 1:00; 120 – Adam Hoover (G) won by fall over Howes (CMB), 3:00; 126 – Iske (CMB) won by fall over Anthony Dickerson (G), 2:59; 132 – Holgate (CMB) won by fall over Moore (G), 2:13; 138 – Chandler Neumann (G) won by fall over Bianchi (CMB), 3:33; 145 – Austin Brause (G) won by fall over Leonard (CMB), 3:18; 152 – Gibson (G) won by fall over Mittlestadt (CMB), 5:02; 160 – J. Coughenour (CMB) won by fall over Hasstedt (G), 3:27; 170 – B. Coughenour (CMB) won by fall over Robert Thomas (G), 1:20; 182 – Chase Whetstone (G) won by fall over White (CMB), 1:01; 195 – Pierce (G) won by fall over Robertson (CMB), 5:51; 220 – Kline (G) won by fall over McFadden (CMB), 0:46; 285 – Dahlke (CMB) won by fall over Harris (G), 0:54.