The Collins-Maxwell girls’ basketball team produced two first-team all-Iowa Star Conference South Division selections and Spartan head coach Justin Flaws was named Coach of the Year in 2019-2020.

Junior forward Reagan Franzen and sophomore guard Alexis Houge were the two Collins-Maxwell players named to the ISC South Division first team. They were both unanimous selections.

Flaws nabbed Coach of the Year honors in the South Division after leading the Spartans to a 10-2 conference record despite having starting point guard Mikayla Houge out for the season with an ankle injury.

Franzen was a monster in the low post for Collins-Maxwell. In 12 South Division games she averaged 13.8 points, 10.0 rebounds, 4.7 steals and 3.3 assists.

Franzen shot 46 percent from the field and 64 percent from the line in conference games.

Houge was a force at guard, averaging 11.3 points, 4.3 rebounds, 2.9 steals and 2.3 assists. She shot 44 percent from the field.

The rest of the South Division first team was made up of Colo-NESCO’s Lauryn Hill and Rylee Purvis, Meskwaki’s Payton Tahahwah and Baxter’s Caitlyn Bruntz. They were also unanimous selections.

Sophomore forward Kenzi Wierson made the South Division second team and senior forward Emma Kahler was named all-conference honorable mention.

Wierson averaged 6.7 points, 5.9 rebounds and 2.3 steals. She also shot 44 percent from the field in conference games.

The other South Division second-team picks were Colo-NESCO’s Emma Stalzer, Meskwaki’s Deandra Navarro, Baxter’s McKenzie Eslinger, GMG’s Belle Duncan and North Tama’s Rylee McLean.

Kahler produced 4.5 points, 2.6 steals and 2.1 assists per game. She shot 45 percent from the field and 71 percent from the line.

Hill was named the South Division MVP after averaging 8.4 points, 4.5 assists and 4.4 steals in leading the Royals to the South Division title with an 11-1 conference mark. Clarksville senior Kori Wedeking was named the North Division MVP after leading the Indians to a perfect 12-0 record in the division averaging 15.5 points, 5.3 rebounds and 5.0 assists.

Tripoli’s Erika (Ollendiek) Harris was named the North Division Coach of the Year after guiding the Panthers to an 8-4 conference record.

All-Iowa Star Conference girls’ basketball teams

South Division

First team: Lauryn Hill (Sr.)*, Colo-NESCO; Rylee Purvis (Sr.)*, Colo-NESCO; Reagan Franzen (Jr.)*, Collins-Maxwell, Alexis Houge (So.)*, Collins-Maxwell, Payton Tahahwah (Sr.)*, Meskwaki; Caitlyn Bruntz (Sr.)*, Baxter.

Second team: Emma Stalzer (Sr.), Colo-NESCO; Kenzi Wierson (So.), Collins-Maxwell; Deandra Navarro (Jr.), Meskwaki; McKenzie Eslinger (Jr.), Baxter; Belle Duncan (Sr.), GMG; Rylee McLean (Jr.), North Tama.

Honorable mention: Holly Jessen (Sr.), Baxter; Emma Kahler (Sr.), Collins-Maxwell; Ayvarie Bappe (Jr.), Colo-NESCO; Emily Vaughn (Jr.), GMG; Geanna Bear (So.), Meskwaki; Abi DeBoef (Jr.), North Tama; Lauren Dawson (Sr.), Valley Lutheran.

North Division

First team: Kori Wedeking (Sr.)*, Clarksville; Janet Borchardt (Sr.)*, Clarksville; Chloe Ross (Sr.)*, Clarksville; Bailey Hoff (Sr.)*, Janesville; Zoey Semelroth (Sr.)*, Tripoli; O’Mally Fair (So.), Riceville.

Second team: Olivia Miller (Sr.), Tripoli; Emma Poppe (Sr.), Clarksville; Taylor Flaig (Sr.), Tripoli; Bethan Christians (Jr.), Dunkerton; Jenna Brown (Jr.), Don Bosco; Gabby Gergan (Jr.), Janesville.

Honorable mention: Cheyenne Behrends (Jr.), Clarksville; Julia Thiry (Jr.), Don Bosco; Lily Fettkether (Sr), Dunkerton; Chloe Kiene (Jr.), Janesville; Joy Beran (Fr.), Riceville; Elle Steere (Sr.), Tripoli; Faith Trelka (Jr.), Waterloo Christian.

*Denotes unanimous selection

South Division MVP: Lauryn Hill, Colo-NESCO

North Division MVP: Kori Wedeking, Clarksville

South Division Coach of the Year: Justin Flaws, Collins-Maxwell

North Division Coach of the Year: Erika (Ollendiek) Harris, Tripoli

Final ISC standings

South Division

Colo-NESCO 11-1

Collins-Maxwell 10-2

Meskwaki 8-4

Baxter 7-5

GMG 3-9

North Tama 3-9

Valley Lutheran 0-12

North Division

Clarksville 12-0

Tripoli 8-4

Dunkerton 7-5

Janesville 7-5

Riceville 7-5

Waterloo Christian 2-10

Don Bosco 1-11