Seven area athletes were given all-state recognition in softball by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association in 2019.

Collins-Maxwell had four players honored in Class 1A after going 28-1 and repeating as 1A state champions. Spartan head coach Troy Houge was also named 1A Coach of the Year by the IGCA.

Ballard received three all-state selections in 4A. The Bombers finished 26-10, ended the regular season ranked eighth and reached the regional finals.

Mikayla Houge, Alexis Houge, Hannah Caple and Ella Kahler were the four players from Collins-Maxwell to be named all-state by the IGCA. The Houge sister both were named to the 1A first team, Caple landed on the second team and Kahler was named honorable mention.

Mikayla Houge went 27-1 pitching with an earned-run average of 0.40 that ranked second in Class 1A and fifth in the entire state. Houge’s 302 strikeouts led 1A and rated seventh overall in the state and her 1.91 strikeouts per inning ranked second in the state.

She also hit .518 with an .847 slugging average, four home runs and 40 RBIs.

Alexis Houge ranked second in 1A and fourth in the state for batting average after hitting right at .600. She ranked second in 1A and the fourth in the state for steals with 57 and scored 53 runs.

Caple hit .303 with a .455 on-base percentage, three doubles, one triple and 34 RBIs. In the field she threw out 3 of 6 runners trying to steal on her, and only made one error in 323 chances at catcher.

Caple was also named academic all-state by the IGCA.

Kahler came back from an ACL injury to hit .385 with nine doubles and 22 RBIs. She also had a .461 OBP and .500 slugging average.

Joining the Houge sisters on the 1A first team were: AGWSR’s Taryan Black and Makena Kuper; BCLUW’s Bailey Ashton; BGM’s Kelsey Lindt; Bishop Garrigan’s Mackenzie Meister; Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking; Lenox’s T.J. Stoaks; Lisbon’s Skylar Sadler; Melcher-Dallas’ Emile Krpan; Murray’s Breianna Klein and Kayla Wookey; New London’s Layney Loyd; Newell-Fonda’s Olivia Larsen and Ella Larsen; Newman Catholic’s Lily Castle; South O’Brien’s Taryn Hintz; Wayne’s Sterling Berndt and Camryn Jacobsen and Westwood’s Katelyn Martian and Andee Martin.

Abby Husak, Skylar Rigby and Isabell Hobbs were the three Ballard players named all-state by the IGCA. Husak and Rigby both made the 4A first team and Hobbs was chosen to the second team.

Husak hit .500 with a .562 OBP, .570 slugging average, eight doubles, 53 runs and 15 RBIs. She also stole 24 of 25 bases and totaled 10 sacrifices.

Husak ranked third in 4A for runs scored.

Rigby hit .464 with a .528 OBP, .929 slugging average, 20 doubles, one triple, nine home runs, 43 runs and 53 RBIs and she threw out 8 of 21 base runners with only two errors, splitting time between catcher and center field. Rigby ranked third in 4A for doubles, fourth in slugging and she tied for sixth in home runs.

Hobbs hit .410 with a .582 slugging average, 14 doubles, two triples and one home run. She scored 29 runs and drove in 48.

Husak and Rigby were joined on the 4A first team by: Adel-Desoto-Minburn’s Abbie Hlas; Boone’s Emma Dighton; Burlington’s Makaylin Powers; Carlisle’s Alyvia DuBois and Molly Hoekstra; Charles City’s Samantha Heyer and Lisabeth Fisher; Grinnell’s Megan Doty; Harlan’s Morgan Schaben; Independence’s Mackenzie Hupke; Iowa City Liberty’s Brylee Klosterman; Knoxville’s Emery Neer; Marion’s Sydney Nielsen; North Scott’s Sam Lee; Pella’s Maddie Parks; West Delaware’s Eve Wedewer; Winterset’s Jenna Young and Cedar Rapids Xavier’s Keera Bell.

Carlisle’s Jim Flaws was named the 4A Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to the 4A state championship.