North Polk and Ballard combined for eight first-team and 22 total all-3A District 8 football selections in 2018.

North Polk had five players make the first team and three land on the second. Ballard produced three first and second-team picks apiece, and both teams had four players named honorable mention.

Senior linebacker Caleb Lomica, senior quarterback Colten Parkins, junior defensive lineman Mark Cox, senior receiver Quinten Sommers and senior kicker Colin Swygman were the North Polk players named to the first team. Swygman was also honored as the district’s special teams MVP.

Lomica made 82 tackles and 8.5 tackles for loss, Parkins threw for 1,368 yards and 13 touchdowns and added 489 yards and six touchdowns rushing and Cox produced 36.5 tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks during the season. Sommers caught 46 passes for 660 yards and seven touchdowns and Swygman made 4 of 5 field goals with a long of 45 yards, and 17 of 19 extra points.

Senior running back/receiver Reece Huen, senior running back Skyler Noftsger and sophomore defensive back Sam Petersen were the three Ballard players to make the first team. Huen ran for 623 yards and four touchdowns and caught 23 passes for 336 yards and two scores, Noftsger picked up 1,073 yards and 10 touchdowns rushing and Petersen finished with 67 tackles and three interceptions and fumble recoveries apiece.

Making the second team from North Polk were junior running back Logan Engebretson, junior receiver/defensive back Ryan Fausch and senior offensive and defensive lineman Eddy Burt.

Engebretson ran for 543 yards and four touchdowns and Fausch made 23 catches for 288 yards and two scores and also picked off three passes on defense. Burt was an important part of a Comet offensive line that paved the way for an offense that averaged 320.1 yards per game, and he also made 21 tackles and one sack on defense.

Senior defensive lineman Joe Hofbauer, senior linebacker Sam Andrews and sophomore linebacker Logan Harmeyer were the three Ballard players to end up on the second team.

Hofbauer finished with 59.5 tackles, 10 tackles for loss and three sacks and Andrews registered 51 tackles, six stops behind the line, two sacks and an interception. Harmeyer recorded 47.5 tackles, eight tackles for loss, two sacks and a fumble recovery.

Junior receiver/defensive back Trevor Mathis, sophomore linebacker/running back Thomas Jones, senior lineman Davis Foughty and junior lineman Ryan Byrd were the North Polk players named honorable mention.

Mathis caught eight passes for 125 yards and intercepted two passes, returning one for a touchdown, and Jones racked up 35.5 tackles and added 279 yards and three touchdowns rushing. Foughty and Byrd were both important parts of the Comet offensive line and they also combined for 6.5 tackles on defense.

Senior defensive back Brooks Fleischmann, sophomore linebacker Mason Murphy, senior receiver/defensive back Kegan Odden and junior linebacker Sam Salasek were named honorable mention from Ballard.

Fleischmann made 35.5 tackles and picked off two passes and Murphy finished with 46 tackles and two tackles for loss. Odden caught 26 passes for 286 yards and two touchdowns, tallied 25 tackles on defense and Salasek compiled 49 tackles and four tackles for loss.

North Polk senior running back/linebacker Jeff Lamp and Norwalk’s Andrew Castaneda were each given the Golden Apple award. This award is given to a player that would’ve been named all-district had it not been for injuries limiting their time on the field.

In his shortened season, Lamp had 42 tackles and a fumble recovery. He also ran for 161 yards and two scores.

Norwalk quarterback Max Sutcliffe and Bondurant-Farrar signal caller Nyanti Gehrke were named the co-MVPs on offense for 3A District 8. For the season, Sutcliffe threw for 1,746 yards and 13 touchdowns and ran for 746 yards and 12 scores and Gehrke racked up 1,071 yards and 13 touchdowns rushing and added 547 yards and seven touchdowns passing.

Bondurant-Farrar’s Christian Conn was tabbed as the district’s defensive MVP. Conn compiled 52 tackles, 14 tackles for loss and five sacks.

Norwalk head football coach Paul Patterson was named the 3A District 8 Coach of the Year after leading the Warriors to the district championship with a perfect 5-0 record.

All-Class 3A District 8 football teams

First team: Tyler Endres (Sr.), Norwalk; Zach Marker (Jr.), Norwalk, Max Sutcliffe (Sr.), Norwalk; Ethan Vetterick (Jr.), Norwalk; Ben Clark (Jr.), Norwalk; Carson Raper (Sr.), Norwalk; Nyanti Gehrke (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Kainen George-Townes (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Christian Conn (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Brody Caswell (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Jordan Collins (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Ethan Reed (Sr.), Carlisle; Bo Struve (Sr.), Carlisle; Hayden Amos (Jr.), Carlisle; Tommy Jones (Sr.), Carlisle; Nic Goodhue (So.), Carlisle; Cayden Meskan (So.), Gilbert; Landon Howard (Sr.), Gilbert; Cooper Hurn (Jr.), Gilbert; Matt Barragy (Sr.), Gilbert; Tucker Hanson (So.), Gilbert; Caleb Lomica (Sr.), North Polk; Mark Cox (Jr.), North Polk; Quinten Sommers (Sr.), North Polk; Colten Parkins (Sr.), North Polk; Colin Swygman (Sr.), North Polk; Skyler Noftsger (Sr.), Ballard; Reece Huen (Sr.), Ballard; Sam Petersen (So.), Ballard.

Second team: Adam Connelly (Sr.), Norwalk; Matt Schuchard (Sr.), Norwalk; Nate Heckart (Sr.), Norwalk; Scott Anderson (Jr.), Norwalk; Kaeden Lozano (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Braden Miller (So.), Bondurant-Farrar; Griffin Snelson (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Carter Meislahn (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Aiden Turner (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Tegan Wyckoff (Jr.), Carlisle; William Voboril (Sr.), Carlisle; Bryce Murray (Jr.), Carlisle; Mitchell Johnson (Sr.), Gilbert; Anthony Porter (Sr.), Carlisle; Isaac Roetman (Jr.), Gilbert; Logan Engebretson (Jr.), North Polk; Ryan Fausch (Jr.), North Polk; Eddie Burt (Sr.), North Polk; Joe Hofbauer (Sr.), Ballard; Sam Andrews (Sr.), Ballard; Logan Harmeyer (So.), Ballard.

Honorable mention: Cole Steenhoek (Sr.), Gilbert; Kenyon O’Brien (Sr.), Gilbert; Drew Hawthorne (Jr.), Gilbert; Jacob Toressi (Jr.), Gilbert; Carter Schmidt (Sr.), Norwalk; Dylan Wolfe (Sr.), Norwalk; Bryce Kohls (Sr.), Norwalk; Christian Nicholson (Sr.), Norwalk; Brooks Fleischmann (Sr.), Ballard; Mason Murphy (So.), Ballard; Kegan Odden (Sr.), Ballard; Sam Salasek (Sr.), Ballard; Thomas Jones (So.), North Polk, Davis Foughty (Sr.), North Polk; Trevor Mathis (Jr.), North Polk; Ryan Byrd (Jr.), North Polk; Hunter Cross (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Jacob Harless (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Camden Coon (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Garrett Levenhagen (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Nolan Brunsen (Sr.), Carlisle; Karson Dunn (So.), Carlisle; Troy Schnathorst (Sr.), Carlisle; Joey Donovan (Jr.), Carlisle.

Offensive MVPs: Max Sutcliffe, Norwalk; Nyanti Gehrke, Bondurant-Farrar.

Defensive MVP: Christian Conn, Bondurant-Farrar.

Special Teams MVP: Colin Swygman, North Polk.

Coach of the Year: Paul Patterson, Norwalk.

Final 3A District 8 standings

Norwalk 5-0

Bondurant-Farrar 3-2

Carlisle 2-3

Gilbert 2-3

North Polk 2-3

Ballard 1-4