WAVERLY - The Collins-Maxwell girls finished a close second and the Spartan boys had one runner receive all-conference honors at the Iowa Star Conference meet Oct. 11 at the Wartburg cross country course in Waverly.

Only five runners were counted as varsity competitors in the meet, with the top four for each team earning points. The Spartan girls scored 33 points to finish just eight points behind Baxter’s winning score of 25 among the seven scored teams in the race.

“I told the girls in practice the day before the meet that we would have to run perfect in order for us to win the conference meet,” Collins-Maxwell head cross country coach Jerry Meinerts said. “We didn’t run perfect, but we did run about where we thought we would. I credit Baxter, their three through five girls ran better than our pack of three through five girls, and that was the difference in the meet. If we could have gotten our pack up there in front of their No. 3 girl, we would have had a chance to win. I can’t fault our girls though — we had six girls run their best times of the season.”

Avery Fricke, Morgan Day and Ariana Davis all placed in the top 10 individually, earning all-ISC honors for Collins-Maxwell.

Fricke led the Spartans by running a 5-kilometer time of 22 minutes, 48 seconds to place sixth overall. Day came in ninth at 23 minutes flat and Davis ran a 23:15 to take 10th.

“It was great to see three of our girls earn all-conference honors,” Meinerts said. “That is something to be very proud of.”

Olivia Pasquariello placed 15th in 23:52 as the other runner to score for Collins-Maxwell. Alexis Houge came in 16th at 24:07.

Hannah Sievert and Mikayla Houge would’ve been varsity runners for Collins-Maxwell under the regular scoring format. Sievert ran a 24:09 and Houge a 24:38, which would’ve put them 18th and 19th at the varsity level.

Baxter’s Brenna Thomson just edged Riceville’s Julia Klaes, 21:22 to 21:23, for the ISC girls’ individual title.

In the boys’ race, Collins-Maxwell placed fourth out of eight scored teams with 63 points. Baxter also won the boys’ championship with 36 points, Dunkerton took second with 46 points and Valley Lutheran finished with a score of 47 to place third.

Freshman Joshua Sievert was the standout performer for Collins-Maxwell in the meet. Sievert led the Spartans for the first time this season, running a 5-kilometer time of 19:42 to place eighth and earn all-ISC recognition.

“What a big race from Josh Sievert!!” Meinerts said. “Josh has had Jacob (Pierick) and Daniel (Klein) to chase at every meet and every practice leading up to this meet. I think that helped him with his performance tonight.”

Pierick placed 12th at the ISC meet in 19:58. Klein came in 15th at 20:23.

“I know Jacob and Daniel didn’t have their best times at this meet, and are disappointed as they, too, wanted to earn all-conference honors,” Meinerts said. “But they competed well and both turned in top-15 (times).”

All five varsity runners for the Collins-Maxwell boys ran their season-best time at the meet. Carter Davis took 40th in 22:42 and Victor Genovese 46th in 23:32.

GMG’s Jackson Edens was the ISC boys’ individual champion with a time of 17:42. Collins-Maxwell’s Logan Berg took second in 17:57.

Collins-Maxwell will compete at the 1A state qualifying meet today at Marshalltown. The meet is set to start at 3 p.m.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. Baxter 25 points, 2. Collins-Maxwell 33, 3. Riceville 56, 4. Clarksville 60, 5. GMG 63, 6. North Tama 106, 7. Colo-NESCO 109.

Boys: 1. Baxter 36, 2. Dunkerton 46, 3. Valley Lutheran 47, 4. Collins-Maxwell 63, 5. GMG 74, 6. Clarksville 76, 7. Colo-NESCO 83, 8. Don Bosco 132.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Collins-Maxwell

Girls: 6. Avery Fricke, 22:48; 9. Morgan Day, 23:00; 10. Ariana Davis, 23:15; 15. Olivia Pasquariello, 23:52; 16. Alexis Houge, 24:07.

Boys: 8. Joshua Sievert, 19:42; 12. Jacob Pierick, 19:58; 15. Daniel Klein, 20:23; 40. Carter Davis, 22:42; 46. Victor Genovese, 23:32.