Seven members of the Ballard baseball team were given all-Raccoon River Conference honors in 2018.

Ballard had two players make the first team, three land on the second team and two more named honorable mention after going 9-5 in the conference to finish second behind Carlisle.

Juniors Jack Luster and Cody Wolfe were the two players named to the first team from Ballard.

Luster was chosen as an infielder after hitting .429 with a .517 on-base percentage, .592 slugging average, six doubles, one triple, five steals, 15 runs and 15 RBIs in conference play. Playing primarily at third base, Luster made 22 assists and 12 putouts defensively.

Wolfe posted a .420 batting average, .463 OBP, .520 slugging average, two doubles, one homer, seven runs and 14 RBIs against RRC foes. He registered 25 putouts and eight assists in the field.

The rest of the first team consisted of Carlisle’s Isaiah Henrichs, Nic McCay, Dylan Berg, Nate Mortimer and Max Goodhue; Winterset’s Easton Holder and Casey Young; Boone’s Dresden Wilson; Perry’s Kaleb Olejniczak and Bondurant-Farrar’s Hogan McIntosh and Tanner Bedier.

Senior pitcher Colin Anderson, junior catcher Kade Reinertson and freshman infielder Sam Petersen were named to the second team from Ballard.

Anderson went 5-1 with a 1.57 earned-run average, 28 strikeouts and 15 walks in 35 ⅔ innings on the mound in conference games. Reinertson hit .313 with eight RBIs and made 73 putouts and threw out four base runners with no errors behind the plate.

Petersen posted a .405 batting average with a .500 OBP, .620 slugging average, two doubles, two homers, seven runs and 15 RBIs during conference competition. In the field, he made 24 putouts and 13 assists.

Also making the second team were Carlisle’s Darek Tingle, Owen Durham and Ben Rowray; Perry’s Gavin Boyer and Austin Carpenter; Carroll’s Devin Baack; Winterset’s Brock Johnson and Easton Darling; Boone’s Evan Appenzeller and Adel-Desoto-Minburn’s Nick Dufoe.

Senior outfielder Isaac Schafbuch and senior shortstop Gavin Manfull were named honorable mention from Ballard.

Schafbuch delivered a .318 batting average, .400 OBP, .432 slugging average, five doubles, 11 runs, nine steals and eight RBIs. In center field, he had 32 putouts and one assist with no errors in conference games.

Manfull hit .275 with a double, four runs and nine RBIs against the RRC. In the field, he made 33 assists and 12 putouts.

Carlisle head coach Blake Heitmeier was named the RRC Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to the conference title with an impressive 13-1 record.

All-RRC baseball teams

First team: P - Isaiah Henrichs (Jr.), Carlisle; Nic McCay (Sr.), Carlisle. C - Easton Holder (Sr.), Winterset; Hogan McIntosh (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar. IF - Dylan Berg (Sr.), Carlisle; Jack Luster (Jr.), Ballard; Nate Mortimer (Sr.), Carlisle; Dresden Wilson (Sr.), Boone. OF - Tanner Bedier (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Kaleb Olejniczak (Jr.), Perry; Casey Young (So.), Winterset. UTIL - Max Goodhue (Sr.), Carlisle; Cody Wolfe (Jr.), Ballard.

Second team: P - Colin Anderson (Sr.), Ballard; Darek Tingle (Jr.), Carlisle. C - Gavin Boyer (Sr.), Perry: Kade Reinertson (Jr.), Ballard. IF - Devin Baack (Jr.), Carroll; Owen Durham (Sr.), Carlisle; Brock Johnson (So.), Winterset; Sam Petersen (Fr.), Ballard. OF - Evan Appenzeller (Sr.), Boone; Easton Darling (So.), Winterset; Ben Rowray (Sr.), Carlisle. UTIL - Austin Carpenter (Sr.), Perry; Nick Dufoe (Sr.), ADM.

Honorable mention: Tolk Bartz (Jr.) Winterset; Spencer Collins (Jr.), ADM; Logan Crannell (Jr.), ADM; Seth Curry (Jr.), Carlisle; Nyanti Gehrke (So.), Bondurant-Farrar; Nick Haberl (So.), Carroll; Nick Lindgren (Sr.), ADM; Aaron Lockwood (Sr.), Perry; Gannon Manfull (Sr.), Ballard; Gavin Milledge (Jr.), Winterset; Kayd Nissen (Jr.), Carroll; Brady Porter (Sr.), Winterset; Isaac Schafbuch (Sr.), Ballard; Slade Sibenaller (Fr.), Carroll; Jackson Smith (Sr.), Boone; Quinn Waterhouse (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Spencer Wilkening (Sr.), Boone; Jack Wilson (Jr.), Carlisle; Connor Van Pelt (Sr.), Winterset.

RRC Coach of the Year: Blake Heitmeier, Carlisle.

Final RRC standings

Carlisle 13-1

Ballard 9-5

Boone 8-5

Perry 8-5

Winterset 6-7

Bondurant-Farrar 5-8

ADM 3-11

Carroll 2-12