MAXWELL - The Collins-Maxwell wrestling team put up one competitive battle in a shortened two-match dual with Lynnville-Sully Dec. 7 at Maxwell.

Collins-Maxwell had to forfeit 10 weight classes and Lynnville-Sully gave up eight. The only points scored on the mat came at 138 and 113 pounds respectively and Lynnville-Sully won both, claiming a 27-12 victory.

“I told them — don’t look at the team score,” Collins-Maxwell head wrestling coach Mike Leslie said. “It’s rough every single time because when it starts, you’re giving up half the matches. We tell them to focus on your own match — we’re centralized on individual results.”

On the mat, Collins-Maxwell’s Caleb Fullerton lost a tough 5-3 battle with Lynnville-Sully’s Josh Dunsbergen. The match was tied at 2-2 after one period and Dunsbergen went in front 4-3 through two.

Fullerton tried to control the third period from the top position on the mat. But he couldn’t maneuver his way to earning points as Dunsbergen scored a late escape to close off the victory.

“That was a pretty good match,” Leslie said. “The kid from Lynnville is pretty good, so I knew it was going to be a tough match either way. It looks like we got a little tired there at the end. There are a few things we need to work on, but easy things to clean up.”

At 113, Lynnville-Sully’s Ben Van Wyk pinned Collins-Maxwell’s Jacob Pierick in one minute, 58 seconds.

“That was our 106 guy wrestling up, so he’s throwing a little bit of weight,” Leslie said. “He kind of got caught there in a headlock. Some things to learn from as a freshman.”

Carter Davis (106) and Cody Galbraith (195) each received a forfeit for Collins-Maxwell. Lane Mathis (145), Carson Dunsbergen (152), Cayden Johnson (160) and C.J. Snethen (120) received forfeits for Lynnville-Sully.

The loss put Collins-Maxwell at 1-5 in dual matches on the season.

Lynnville-Sully 27, Collins-Maxwell 12

132 pounds - Double forfeit. 138 - Josh Dunsbergen (LS) won by decision over Caleb Fullerton (CM), 5-3. 145 - Double forfeit. 152 - Carson Dunsbergen (LS) won by forfeit. 160 - Cayden Johnson (LS) won by forfeit. 170 - Double forfeit. 182 - Double forfeit. 195 - Cody Galbraith (CM) won by forfeit. 220 - Double forfeit. 285 - Double forfeit. 106 - Carter Davis (CM) won by forfeit. 113 - Ben Van Wyk (LS) won by fall over Jacob Pierick (CM), 1:58. 120 - C.J. Snethen (LS) won by forfeit. 126 - Double forfeit.