Collins-Maxwell had three volleyball players named all-conference in the Iowa Star Conference South Division by the conference coaches in 2017.

Seniors Brianda Bane and Katie Camp, and junior Gracie Cheville were honored after helping Collins-Maxwell finish third in the South Division with a 5-2 record during its first season of competition in the ISC.

Bane was a unanimous first-team choice in the ISC South Division. The talented middle hitter hammered down 115 kills at 4.60 kills per set and a .394 kill-efficiency rate, and also came up with 31 blocks and 13 aces in ISC matches.

Joining Bane on the ISC South Division first team are North Tama’s Katie Kopriva, Karly Jans and Takoa Kopriva; Baxter’s Jordynn Wesselink and Amber Weltha and Meskwaki junior Tori Lasley. Katie Kopriva, Jans and Wesselink were also unanimous picks.

Camp was chosen to the ISC South Division second team. North Tama’s Lydia Schafer and Isabel Sierra, Baxter’s Sailor Hinegardner and Mary Schabilion, Colo-NESCO’s Chelsea Henze and GMG’s Peyton Gallentine made up the rest of the South Division second team.

During ISC matches, Camp handed out 180 assists at 7.20 per set at setter. She also came up with 52 digs and 13 aces.

Cheville was named all-conference honorable mention.. During conference play, Cheville produced 41 kills on a .169 kill-efficiency rate, and added 71 digs and six aces in 25 sets.

All-ISC South Division volleyball teams

First team: Katie Kopriva (So.)*, North Tama; Karly Jans (Jr.)*, North Tama; Jordynn Wesselink (Sr.)*, Baxter; Brianda Bane (Sr.)*, Collins-Maxwell; Takoa Kopriva (So.), North Tama; Amber Weltha (So.), Baxter; Tori Lasley (Jr.), Meskwaki.

Second team: Lydia Schafer (Sr.), North Tama; Isabel Sierra (So.), North Tama; Sailor Hinegardner (Sr.), Baxter; Katie Camp (Sr.), Collins-Maxwell; Chelsea Henze (Sr.), Colo-NESCO; Peyton Gallentine (Sr.), GMG; Mary Schabilion (Sr.), Baxter.

Honorable mention: Sydney Schmidt (Jr.), Baxter; Kassidy State (Sr.), CAL; Gracie Cheville (Jr.), Collins-Maxwell; Rylie Reischauer (Sr.), Colo-NESCO; Eve Gallentine (Sr.), GMG: Carissa Calderwood (Jr.), North Tama; Delicia Guevara (Sr.), Meskwaki; Katelyn Panning (Sr.), Valley Lutheran.

*Denotes unanimous selection.

Final ISC South Division team standings

North Tama 7-0

Baxter 6-1

Collins-Maxwell 5-2

Colo-NESCO 4-3

GMG 3-4

Meskwaki 2-5

Valley Lutheran 1-6

CAL 0-7

Bane also makes all-ISC Elite team

In addition to making the all-Iowa Star Conference South Division first team in volleyball, Collins-Maxwell senior middle hitter Brianda Bane was one of seven players named to the all-ISC Elite team.

The all-ISC Elite team combines the top players from both the South and North Divisions of the conference. Bane was joined by Kennedy Meister, Bree Thompson and Alisa Bengen of Class 1A state champion Janesville; Kennedy Drewis of state qualifier Tripoli; Katie Kopriva of state qualifier North Tama and McKayla Boeschen of Dunkerton.