The Story County Board of Supervisors is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Citizen of the Year Award.

The board of supervisors established the Citizen of the Year award in 2015, and in April that year, recognized Dr. George Belitsos and Mayor Wallace Loney. Mike Meetz was the 2016 recipient, and Dr. Erwin Klaas awarded in 2017. Students from the Nevada High School and Nevada FFA nominated Kevin Cooper for the recognition in 2018.

Nominations are sought prior to Feb. 15, and the Citizen of the Year will be recognized during National County Government Month in April. Nomination forms are available on Story County’s website at > Government > Offices and Departments > Board of Supervisors > Citizen of the Year Award.

The Story County Citizen of the Year Award is given annually to residents of Story County who perform meritorious service above and beyond what would be expected of a citizen.

Their efforts demonstrate creativity, vision, leadership and citizenship by providing service to programs and activities that positively impact the welfare of the citizens of Story County, Iowa.

This extraordinary service is either through their regular vocation or in the community outside their vocation, or a combination of both.

Contact: Leanne Lawrie Harter, County Outreach and Special Projects Manager, 900 Sixth St., Nevada, Iowa 50201, 515-382-7247 or