Editor’s Note: This story is based on the “unofficial” results posted by the Story County Auditor and Polk County Auditor on election night.

In Story County’s Contested Races

Steven Kovarik had a decisive win over opponent Jason Bohning to become Cambridge’s next mayor. Kovarik tallied 135 votes to Bohning’s 48.

Kovarik, 54, is an information technology manager, leading a team of eight information technology professionals, in the Veterinary Medicine College at Iowa State University. He has served several terms on the City Council.

Kovarik said the two biggest issues for Cambridge in his opinion are: making water treatment plant enhancements; and finishing water main secondary routes.

In Collins, four men were running for three seats on the City Council. Winning seats were incumbents, Neal Keith Stratton and Gregory Schlueter, receiving 65 and 54 votes respectively. Also elected was Brent Horn, receiving 36 votes. Not elected was Andrew Coree, receiving 32 votes.

In a five-person race for three seats on the Huxley City Council, seats will go to David Kuhn, Rick Peterson and Greg Mulder. Kuhn, an incumbent, led the vote-getting with 188. Petersen had 179 and Mulder had 168. Incumbent Kevin Deaton was back slightly at 134 and rounding out the votes was Joe Schierbrock with 117.

In the Maxwell City Council race, four people were running for two seats. Elected were Charles Robertson and Alex Golly, with 93 and 83 votes respectively. Jon Klein received 71 votes and incumbent Michael Gustafson received 52.

In Polk County’s Contested Races

Incumbent Brian T. Shipley, Jr., and newcomer Colten Fors took the two seats on the Elkhart City Council, garnering 55 votes and 46 votes, respectively. The third candidate, Ronald Adams, received 36 votes, and there were five write-in votes.

In the five-person race for two seats on the Polk City City Council, Mandy Vogel came out on top with 370 votes. Jeff Walters was also elected with 274 votes. Behind them were Michael Bakken, 183; Dane Lane, 152; and Brian Nelson, 114. There were nine write-in votes cast. Lane was the only incumbent running, so newcomers will now join the Polk City City Council.

In Sheldahl, Nicole Goeser, Raymond Harris (incumbent) and Bobbie Adams took the three open seats on the council. Goeser received 82 votes; Harris 70 votes and Adams 66 votes. Also running was Shawn Houston, who received 33 votes, and there were four write-in votes.