The Collins-Maxwell-Baxter softball team placed three players on the all-Heart of Iowa Conference teams in 2014 after the Raiders finished fifth in the conference with a 9-8 record.

Senior first baseman Abbie Haupert made the all-HOIC first team from CMB. Junior shortstop Mackenzie Schmitz and freshman outfielder Megan Ritter were both all-HOIC honorable mention.

Haupert hit .321 with a .464 slugging average, four doubles, two triples, 11 runs and 10 RBI in conference play. She also fielded at a .948 clip with 124 putouts and three assists at first base.

Joining Haupert on the all-HOIC first team infield were Prairie City-Monroe freshman Jayci Vos, Greene County junior Emily Christensen and North Polk freshman Rebecca Rimathe.

PCM pitcher Rachel Freland and catcher Abbi Gilson, Greene County pitcher Marissa Promes and outfielder Kayla Mobley, North Polk catcher Makayla Burt, South Hamilton outfielder Carly Swenson, Saydel outfielder Liz Miklus and Colfax-Mingo utility pick Amy Russell made up the rest of the first team. Gilson and Miklus were the only unanimous choices.

Schmitz hit .386 with a .453 OBA, three doubles, 15 runs and 11 steals in conference play. She also made 37 assists and 34 putouts in the field.

Ritter recorded a .288 OBA with eight runs, six RBI and four steals. She also made 29 putouts and one assist with just two errors in the field.

All-HOIC softball teams

First team: P - Rachel Freland (Jr.), PCM; Marissa Promes (Jr.), Greene County. C - Makayla Burt (Jr.), North Polk; Abbi Gilson (Sr.)*, PCM. IF - Jayci Vos (Fr.), PCM; Emily Christensen (Jr.), Greene County; Rebecca Rimathe (Fr.), North Polk; Abbie Haupert (Sr.), CMB. OF - Kayla Mobley (Jr.), Greene County; Carly Swenson (Jr.), South Hamilton; Liz Miklus (Jr.)*, Saydel. UTIL - Amy Russell (Fr.), Colfax-Mingo.

Second team: P - Kayla Jennings (Fr.), PCM; Ady Wintermote (Fr.), South Hamilton; Erin Nuetzman (Sr.), Roland-Story. C - ALyssa Hegland (So.), South Hamilton; Elise Powers (Jr.), Gilbert. IF - Carleigh Paup (So.), Greene County; Jennafer Uitermarkt (Sr.), PCM; Claire Isenhart (Sr.), Gilbert; Sydney Berends (Sr.), Roland-Story. OF - Kayla Lucas (Jr.), South Hamilton; Kelsey Haley (Sr.), Nevada; Erica Helton (Fr.), Nevada. UTIL - Hannah Onken (Jr.), Greene County.

Honorable mention: Olivia Patterson (Fr.), North Polk; Cali Koeneke (Sr.), Gilbert; Serine Isenhart (Sr.), Gilbert; Cassie Shadlow (Sr.), Roland-Story; Brooke Staker (Sr.), Roland-Story; Lilly Lomica (Jr.), North Polk; Alex Van Dam (Sr.), Nevada; Ellie Burlage (Fr.), Nevada; Kali Lucas (Jr.), South Hamilton; Mackenzie Busch (Jr.), South Hamilton; Taylor Steinkamp (Jr.), Saydel; Annika Hofbauer (Jr.), Saydel; Sydney Koch (So.), Greene County; Emma Saddoris (Jr.), Greene County; Katie VandeWall (Fr.), PCM; Makenna Van Veen (Jr.), PCM; Mackenzie Schmitz (Jr.), CMB; Megan Ritter (Fr.), CMB; Jade Lewis (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo; Jena Teed (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Final HOIC standings

PCM 16-2

Greene County 15-3

South Hamilton 11-6

Colfax-Mingo 10-8

CMB 9-8

North Polk 7-11

Roland-Story 7-11

Saydel 7-11

Nevada 4-14

Gilbert 3-15