POLK CITY – The North Polk cross country teams both brought home a team championship at the Comet Invitational Monday at the Tournament Club of Iowa in Polk City.

The North Polk boys made a mockery of its competition. The Comet boys dominated the small field, producing four of the top five runners.

The North Polk boys ended up with a score of 23 points to easily beat Saydel’s runner-up point total of 47. Woodward Academy was third out of five teams with 80 points.

Peter Smith was the individual champion and Ryley Sandberg came in second for the Comet boys. Smith ran a 5-kilometer time of 17 minutes, nine seconds and Sandberg clocked in at 17:44.

Reed Smith completed the course in 18:36 to place fourth and Christian Berglund was right behind in fifth place with an 18:37 showing. Corey Richards was the final scored Comet runner as he ran a 19:53 to place 11th.

In the girls’ competition North Polk scored 30 points to beat Madrid by 10 points for the team victory. Saydel was the only other scored team in the girls’ race as the Eagles finished with 61 points.

Sybbie Sears, Samantha Sinclair and Rachel Zimmerman each placed in the top 10 individually for the Comet girls. Sears ran a 4-kilometer time of 17:36 to place third, Sinclair came in sixth with a time of 18:15 and Zimmerman was seventh with an 18:17 showing.

Ohara Lesher and Emerson Sears were the other scored runners for the North Polk girls. Lesher ran a season-best time of 19:35 to place 13th and Emerson came in 14th with a 19:41 showing.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. North Polk 30, 2. Madrid 40, 3. Saydel 61.

Boys: 1. North Polk 23, 2. Saydel 47, 3. Woodward Academy 80, 4. Des Moines Christian 82, 5. Madrid 137.

Individual results – North Polk

Girls (4-kilometer): 3. Sybbie Sears, 17:36; 6. Samantha Sinclair, 18:15; 7. Rachel Zimmerman, 18:17; 13. Ohara Lesher, 19:35; 14. Emerson Sears, 19:41; 15. Vanessa Erickson, 19:55; 16. Tessa Subra, 20:00.

Boys (5-kilometer): 1. Peter Smith, 17:09; 2. Ryley Sandberg, 17:44; 4. Reed Smith, 18:36; 5. Christian Berglund, 18:37; 11. Corey Richards, 19:53; 13. Nick Kibby, 20:13; 18. Michael Rimathe, 20:33.