ELDORA – The Collins-Maxwell-Baxter girls’ and boys’ cross country teams both placed eighth with shorthanded rosters at the South Hardin Invitational Saturday in Eldora.

The Raider girls ran without Heather Jessen – the team’s top runner from their previous meet at Nevada – and scored 167 points at South Hardin to take eighth out of 12 teams. The CMB boys were without top runner Mark Deutsch and ended up eighth out of 10 scored teams with 202 points.

In the girls’ competition Chasity Moody and Winter Brown placed in the top 25 individually for the Raiders. Moody ran a 4-kilometer time of 17 minutes, nine seconds to take 24th and Brown was 25th in 17:12.

Stephanie Twohey came in 31st at 17:33, Anna Jones was 39th in 17:47 and Chantel Maxwell took 49th in 18:27 as the other scored CMB runners.

"We were without Heather, but hopefully she’ll be back for our next meet," CMB head coach Jerry Meinerts said. "Winter ran extremely well as she got out and ran with Chasity and held on the entire race. Steph and Anna had great races as well. Their times are dropping, but so are everyone else’s. We need to continue moving up in the placings."

Mackenzie Klemme and Veronica Condon were the other two varsity runners for CMB and they placed 55th and 66th respectively. South Hardin won the girls’ team championship with 68 points and Eagle Grove’s Tiffany Christensen was the individual winner with a 14:55 showing.

In the boys’ competition CMB had 202 points to finish 20 points ahead of Colo-Nesco for eighth. East Marshall easily won the boys’ team title with 50 points and Nevada was second with 92.

"Our boys ran really well without our captain," Meinerts said. "Mark was sick, but he will be ready to run at (the next) meet. All of our other guys stepped up and ran good races on a perfect day for racing."

Colin Thompson continued his breakout year by placing 15th individually for CMB. Thompson ran a 5-kilometer time of 18:40, finishing just three seconds shy of 11th place.

"Colin continues to pace the team," Meinerts said. "He ran another great race, earning himself a medal."

Calvin Jones took 40th in 20:16, Brock Johnston was 48th in 20:53, Connor Johnson came in 52nd at 21:28 and Jacob Hallett was 56th in 22:04 as the other scored Raider runners. Drake Caple was the other varsity runner for the Raiders and he was right behind Hallett with a 57th-place time of 22:14.

"Our other guys just need to step up and run at a quicker pace," Meinerts said. "They need to be under 20 minutes for our team to be competitive. I know they can do it; it’s just a matter of believing that and going out there and doing it."

South Hardin’s Tim Rose won the boys’ individual title in 17:36 and East Marshall’s Nick Melling took second in 17:45.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. South Hardin 68 points, 2. Iowa Falls-Alden 102, 3. East Marshall 114, 4. Webster City 123, 5. Nevada 124, 6. South Tama 163, 7. North Tama 165, 8. CMB 167, 9. Eagle Grove 172, 10. BCLUW 181, 11. Colfax-Mingo 253, 12. Colo-Nesco 323.

Boys: 1. East Marshall 50, 2. Nevada 92, 3. BCLUW 110, 4. Webster City 123, 5. South Tama 125, 6. Iowa Falls-Alden 126, 7. South Hardin 146, 8. CMB 202, 9. Colo-Nesco 222, 10. Colfax-Mingo 273.

Individual results – CMB

Girls (4-kilometer): 24. Chasity Moody, 17:09; 25. Winter Brown, 17:12; 31. Stephanie Twohey, 17:33; 39. Anna Jones, 17:47; 49. Chantel Maxwell, 18:27; 55. Mackenzie Klemme, 18:43; 66. Veronica Condon, 19:27.

Boys (5-kilometer): 15. Colin Thompson, 18:40; 40. Calvin Jones, 20:16; 48. Brock Johnston, 20:53; 52. Connor Johnson, 21:28; 56. Jacob Hallett, 22:04, 57. Drake Caple, 22:14.