MONROE – The Ballard girls and North Polk boys each earned a team championship at the Prairie City-Monroe Invitational Sept. 25 in Monroe.

The Bomber girls’ cross country team produced five top 25 runners and the individual champion in Abby Kohut-Jackson to finish with 68 points. That was good enough to beat Lynnville-Sully by 19 points for the team championship.

"The girls ran their best race of the season on a tough and hilly course," Ballard head coach Scott Barth said. "Abby was dominant once again and we had a large pack of girls in the two through seven spots. This got the victory over four ranked teams from different classes."

Kohut-Jackson was outstanding, running a sub-16 minute 4-kilometer time of 15:55.11 to defeat Davis County’s Addie McKee by an impressive 47 seconds for the title.

Val Charter was the second Bomber to cross the finish line as she came in 18th at 18:20.29. Meghan Hirsch, Talia Vespestad and Rachel Watters were right behind Charter as the other scored Bomber runners as they placed 19th, 20th and 22nd respectively.

Hirsch ran a time of 18:22.31, Vespestad clocked in at 18:24.00 and Watters finished in 18:28.93. Jennie Huxford and Sara Hugee weren’t far behind that group as Huxford finished 29th in 18:44.28 and Hugee took 30th in 18:45.56.

Collins-Maxwell-Baxter placed fifth and North Polk came in seventh out of 13 teams in the girls’ race.

CMB totaled 153 points. The Raiders had three top 40 runners in Heather Jessen, Chasity Moody and Stephanie Twohey.

Jessen clocked in at 18:32.53 to place 24th, Moody ran a time of 18:42.88 to take 28th and Twohey placed 39th with a 19:25.26 showing. Mackenzie Klemme and Chantel Maxwell placed 41st and 45th with respective times of 19:27.75 and 19:39.62 as the other scored runners on the team.

North Polk ended up with a score of 195. The Comets were running without two of their top five runners in Rachel Zimmerman and Olivia Patterson.

"I thought the girls competed pretty well considering the fact that we were missing Rachel and Olivia," North Polk head coach Steve Leach said. "Vanessa Erickson, Ohara Lesher, Jackie Moeckly and Elizabeth Burgus stepped up nicely to allow us to beat six other teams."

Sybbie Sears provided the Comet girls with a top-five individual performance. Sears completed the course in 16:52.67 to place fourth overall.

Samantha Sinclair took 32nd as the second North Polk runner, finishing in 18:50.42. Erickson was 60th in 20:29.87, Lesher came in 66th at 20:50.37 and Moeckly took 67th in 20:53.40 as the other runners to score for North Polk.

In the boys’ competition North Polk made a mockery of the competition by easily defeating Knoxville for the championship in the 14-team competition.

The Comets, ranked second in Class 2A, had four runners place in the top 11 to tally a score of 46. Knoxville ended up with 90 points and Davis County was third with a score of 99.

"The boys ran a nice race and basically took care of business," Leach said. "I was especially happy with the JV runners because they all finished in the top 85 of 182 runners in the combined (varsity and JV) race."

Peter Smith earned the individual title in the boys’ race for North Polk. Like Kohut-Jackson in the girls’ race, Smith was dominant, running a 5-kilometer time of 17:20.55 to beat West Marshall’s Nathan Bradley by almost 40 seconds for the victory.

Ryley Sandberg came in third overall for North Polk as he crossed the finish line in 18:25.05. Christian Berglund was ninth as the other Comet to place in the top 10 and his time was 19:10.00.

Reed Smith finished just outside the top 10 for North Polk with an 11th-place showing of 19:26.75. Nick Kibby ended up the final scored runner for North Polk with 22nd-place time of 19:49.70.

Ballard finished fourth in the boys’ team standings with 106 points. The Bombers did this without top runner Luke Kohut-Jackson competing.

"Luke’s absence was a good thing for the boys in many ways in that it let our younger runners get some varsity experience and it showed us what we can do without him in the No. 1 spot. We are competitive with most teams without him, so throw him back into meets and we are solid."

Craig Jordan stepped up as the top runner for Ballard. Jordan turned in a top-10 performance, placing seventh with a time of 18:59.42.

Quentin Luke was the second Bomber runner to finish as he placed 17th in 19:44.83. Jed Miller was 20th in 19:48.54, Kyle Schilling came in 28th at 20:15.27 and Bryce Snell was 34th in 20:26.44 to complete the scoring for Ballard.

The CMB boys finished seventh with 183 points. The Raiders were just four points behind West Marshall’s sixth place score.

"I couldn’t be happier with both of our teams," CMB head coach Jerry Meinerts said. "They raced well, competed at a high level and they did the very best they could. None of my athletes were happy with their times, but this is a difficult, hilly course on a hot and windy afternoon. The conditions were not the best for running fast times, but our runners showed a lot of heart and competed right where they should be at this time of the season."

Mark Deutsch gave CMB a top-10 individual time. Deutsch completed the course in 19:07.81 to place eighth.

Colin Thompson also had a big day individually for CMB. Thompson ended up 16th in 19:43.30.

Calvin Jones, Drake Caple and Brock Johnston were the other scored runners for CMB. Jones ran a 21:13.28 to place 52nd, Caple took 69th in 21:50.36 and Johnston ran a 22:07.67 to finish 77th.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. Ballard 68, 2. Lynnville-Sully 87, 3. Durant 108, 4. Davis County 114, 5. CMB 153, 6. Centerville 184, 7. North Polk 195, 8. Pella Christian 216, 9. PCM 242, 10. West Marshall 249, 11. Colfax-Mingo 256, 12. Knoxville 257, 13. Central Decatur 304.

Boys: 1. North Polk 46, 2. Knoxville 90, 3. Davis County 99, 4. Ballard 106, 5. Des Moines Christian 167, 6. West Marshall 179, 7. CMB 183, 8. Pella Christian 188, 9. Lynnville-Sully 236, 10. Centerville 275, 11. Durant 296, 12. Central Decatur 320, 13. PCM 341, 14. Colfax-Mingo 374,

Individual results – Ballard, CMB and North Polk

Girls (4-kilometer): 1. Abby Kohut-Jackson (B), 15:55.11; 4. Sybbie Sears (NP), 16:52.67; 18. Val Charter (B), 18:20.29; 19. Meghan Hirsch (B), 18:22.31, 20. Talia Vespestad (B), 18:24.00; 22. Rachel Watters (B), 18:28.93; 24. Heather Jessen (CMB), 18:24.53; 28. Chasity Moody (CMB), 18:42.88; 29. Jennie Huxford (B), 18:44.28; 30. Sarah Hugee (B), 18:45.56; 32. Samantha Sinclair (NP), 18:50.42; 39. Stephanie Twohey (CMB), 19:25.26; 41. Mackenzie Klemme (CMB), 19:27.75; 45. Chantel Maxwell (CMB), 19:39.62; 49. Anna Jones (CMB), 19:54.74; 60. Vanessa Erickson (NP), 20:29.87; 66. Ohara Lesher (NP), 20:50.37; 67. Jackie Moeckly (NP), 20:53.40; 68. Tessa Subra (NP), 20:56.57; 83. Elizabeth Burgus (NP), 21:51.67; 92. Courtney Clapper (CMB), 22:18.13.

Boys (5-kilometer): 1. Peter Smith (NP), 17:20.55; 3. Ryley Sandberg (NP), 18:25.05; 7. Craig Jordan (B), 18:59.42; 8. Mark Deutsch (CMB), 19:07.81; 9. Christian Berglund (NP), 19:10.00; 11. Reed Smith (NP), 19:26.75; 16. Colin Thompson (CMB), 19:43.30; 17. Quentin Luke (B), 19:44.83; 20. Jed Miller (B), 19:48.54; 22. Nick Kibby (NP), 19:49.70; 28. Kyle Schilling (B), 20:15.27; 32. Michael Rimathe (NP), 20:25.24; 34. Bryce Snell (B), 20:26.44; 37. Matthew Turk (NP), 20:31.28; 40. Caleb Wuestenberg (B), 20:44.59; 42. Ian Fletcher (B), 20:46.02; 52. Calvin Jones (CMB), 21:13.28; 69. Drake Caple (CMB), 21:50.36; 77. Brock Johnston (CMB), 22:07.67; 88. Jacob Hallett (CMB), 22:38.18; 90. Eric Hall-Flooden (CMB), 22:42.90.