Area schools were well-represented on the 2018 Iowa Girls Coaches Association all-state softball teams.

Collins-Maxwell, North Polk and Ballard combined for 10 all-state selections this summer. Collins-Maxwell, the Class 1A state champions, had six players chosen, top-five 3A power North Polk received three selections and Ballard had one player honored in 4A.

The Houge sisters — Mikayla and Alexis — were named to the 1A first team from Collins-Maxwell.

Mikayla, a sophomore pitcher, made all-state for the third year in a row after being named to the 2A first team last year and the 3A third team in 2016 as a member of Collins-Maxwell-Baxter. In 2018, Mikayla went 28-1 with an amazing 0.42 earned-run average, 316 strikeouts and 35 walks in 168 innings and she hit .518 with 14 doubles, one triple, four home runs and 40 RBIs for Collins-Maxwell.

Mikayla’s ERA ranks first among 1A pitchers and second in the entire state. She also finished second in 1A and fifth in the state for strikeouts.

Alexis, an eighth-grader, hit .600 with a .631 on-base percentage, .780 slugging average, seven doubles, four triples, one homer, 51 steals, 48 runs and 27 RBIs as the leadoff hitter for Collins-Maxwell. Alexis ranked second in the state and first in 1A for batting average and seventh in the state for steals. At shortstop she made 29 putouts and 23 assists.

The other 1A first-team picks by the IGCA were: AGWSR’s Taryan Barrick; Akron-Westfield’s Brynn VanEldik; BGM’s Kelsey Lint; Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking; Coon Rapids-Bayard’s Jade Hays; Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton’s Sophia Peppers; Glidden-Ralston’s Talia Schon; Kee’s Kendra Cooper and Chloe Severson; Kingsley-Pierson’s Bradi Harvey; Lenox’s T.J. Stoaks; Lisbon’s Skylar Sadler; Martensdale St. Marys Kaitlyn Schad; Moravia’s Emma McDaniel; Murray’s Breianna Klein; New London’s Layney Loyd; New Castle’s Lily Castle; Sidney’s Olivia Larsen; Sigourney’s Autum Barthelman; Wayne’s Haylee Fortune; West Monona’s Lexi Lander and Woodbury Central’s Payge Ronfeldt.

Senior center fielder Katie Camp made the 1A third team from Collins-Maxwell. Camp hit .447 with a .528 OBP, one double, 32 runs and 29 steals on offense and she made four putouts on defense.

Spartan junior catcher Hannah Caple, sophomore right fielder Ella Kahler and freshman third baseman Reagan Franzen each were named all-state honorable mention in 1A by the IGCA.

Caple hit .420 with a .595 slugging average, eight doubles, one home run and 31 RBIs. She also made 315 putouts with 19 assists against only three errors and threw out six runners from behind the plate defensively.

Kahler posted a .371 batting average and .506 slugging average with three doubles, three home runs, 19 runs and 25 RBIs. In the field, she made eight putouts and six assists.

Franzen tallied a .446 batting average and .674 slugging average with 12 doubles, three home runs, 24 runs and 31 RBIs. She made 24 assists and 17 putouts in the field.

Collins-Maxwell head softball coach Troy Houge was named the IGCA 1A Coach of the Year after guiding the Spartans to the state championship in their first season of existence with a 30-1 record.

North Polk’s Hannah Pals made the IGCA 3A first team. Comet freshman outfielder Sydney Anderson was named to the second team and junior shortstop Ellie Owen landed on the third team.

Pals, also a first-team pick in 5A last year for Dowling Catholic, went 8-3 with an 0.49 ERA, 130 strikeouts and just 16 walks in 71 ⅔ innings on the mound. She also hit .397 with a .466 OBP, .769 slugging average, 11 doubles, six homers, 25 runs and 26 RBIs.

Also making the IGCA 3A first team were: Davenport Assumption’s Hannah Kelley and Olivia Wardlow; Roland-Story’s Riley Holmgren and Madison Friest; Benton Community’s Shelby Hulsebus and Angie Gorkow; Albia’s Hannah Isley and Alexis Beard; Solon’s Taylor Ryan; Columbus Catholic’s Taylor Hogan and Sydney Schultz; Boyden Hull/Rock Valley’s Kaitlynn Van Der Zwaag; Spirit Lake’s Karlee Olsen and Payton Ahrenstorff; Atlantic’s Alexis Handel and Ally Anderson; Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s Randi Richmond; Humboldt’s Ellie Jacobson and Carlie Thompson; Algona’s Emma Hjelle and Camanche’s Tarah Wehde.

Anderson posted a .467 batting average, .479 OBP, .611 slugging average, 11 doubles, one triple, 19 runs and 25 RBIs for North Polk this season. In the field, she made 30 putouts and four assists with only one error.

Owen tallied a .402 batting average, .475 OBP, .539 slugging average, 12 doubles, one triple, 31 runs, 13 RBIs and 13 steals. She also delivered 34 putouts and 28 assists in the field.

Roland-Story’s Amber Doyle was named 3A Coach of the Year.

Ballard sophomore Abby Husak landed on the 4A second team after helping the Bombers go 20-17 following up last year’s state runner-up performance.

Husak, a Collins-Maxwell transfer, hit .510 with a .528 OBP, .569 slugging average, six doubles, 31 runs and 11 steals for Ballard in 2018. Playing in the outfield and second base, Husak made 26 putouts and 19 assists on defense.

The IGCA 4A first team was comprised of: Independence’s Mackenzie Hupke; Charles City’s Samantha Heyer and Lisabeth Fiser; Center Point-Urbana’s Olivia Brecht; Newton’s Emily Valtman; Des Moines Hoover’s Hannah Blackford and Abby Nolte; Adel-Desoto-Minburn’s Abbie Hlas and Ashley Tennant; Carlisle’s Delaney Schnathorst and Alyvia Dubois; Oskaloosa’s Maddie Haines and Josie Bunnell; Winterset’s Danny Barker; Norwalk’s Alyx Witt; Marion’s Sydney Nielsen; Mount Pleasant’s Chi Glaha; Denison-Schleswig’s Sarah Heilesen; Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Madelyn Morgensen and Dallas Center-Grimes’ Amber Fistler.

Des Moines Hoover’s Melissa Feuerbach was tabbed as the 4A Coach of the Year.