The Ballard softball team had six players chosen to the all-Raccoon River Conference softball teams in 2018.

Freshman outfielder Abby Husak and sophomore second baseman/pitcher Isabell Hobbs made the all-RRC first team from Ballard. Sophomore first baseman Maggie Larson landed on the second team and junior outfielder Karlee Ahrenholtz, sophomore shortstop Isabella Johnson and eighth-grade pitcher Matty Beerbower were all tabbed honorable mention.

Husak was a unanimous choice to the first team. Winterset’s Danny Barker, Perry’s Johanna Diw, Adel-Desoto-Minburn’s Abbie Hlas and Ashley Tennant, Carlisle’s Molly Hoekstra and Delany Schnathorst and Boone’s Caitlynne Shadle were the other unanimous first-team selections.

Husak hit .528 in conference play with two doubles, five steals and 17 runs. She also made 13 putouts and six assists defensively.

Hobbs came through with a .378 batting average, three doubles, one home run, 13 runs and 18 RBIs in conference competition. She also recorded 20 putouts and 12 assists with just one error in the field and posted a 3.41 earned-run average in 12 ⅓ innings on the mound.

Carlisle’s Alyvia Dubois, Winterset’s Sophie Stover, Bondurant-Farrar’s Sydney Carroll and Carroll’s Chloe Gallegos also made the first team.

Larson registered a .326 batting average with four home runs, two doubles, 20 RBIs and 13 runs against RRC foes. In the field she made 80 putouts, four assists and only two errors.

The other second-team selections were: Boone’s Lauren Calkins, Emma Dighton and Jordan Trowbridge; Bondurant-Farrar’s Riley Gilroy; Carroll’s Laura Sweeney; ADM’s Brooke Hickey and Morgan Meyer; Carlisle’s Natalie McCormick and Kennedy Preston; Winterset’s Emma Lowden and Corry Pickering and Perry’s Alyssa Kruger.

Ahrenholtz delivered a .371 average with a double and 12 RBIs and she made 13 putouts defensively in RRC games. Johnson hit .295 with 12 runs and nine steals and she recorded 30 assists and 18 putouts in the field. Beerbower went 8-4 with a 3.15 ERA and 66 strikeouts in 66 ⅔ innings on the mound and she hit .379 with two doubles, one triple and seven RBIs.

ADM’s Rick Dillinger was named the RRC Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to a runner-up finish in both the conference and the state softball tournament in 4A.

All-RRC softball teams

First team: Danny Barker (Sr.)*, Winterset; Johanna Diw (Sr.)*, Perry; Abbie Hlas (So.)*, ADM; Molly Hoekstra (So.)*, Carlisle; Abby Husak (So.)*, Ballard; Ashley Tennant (Sr.)*, ADM; Caitlynne Shadle (Sr.)*, Boone; Delany Schnathorst (So.)*, Carlisle; Sydney Carroll (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Alyvia Dubois (Jr.), Carlisle; Chloe Gallegos (Fr.), Carroll; Isabell Hobbs (So.), Ballard; Sophie Stover (Sr.), Winterset.

Second team: Lauren Calkins (Sr.), Boone; Emma Dighton (Fr.), Boone; Riley Gilroy (Fr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Brooke Hickey (Fr.), ADM; Alyssa Kruger (Sr.), Perry; Maggie Larson (So.), Ballard; Emma Lowden (Jr.), Winterset; Morgan Meyer (So.), ADM; Natalie McCormick (Sr.), Carlisle; Corry Pickering (Jr.), Winterset; Kennedy Preston (So.), Carlisle; Laura Sweeney (Fr.), Carroll; Jordan Trowbridge (Sr.), Boone.

Honorable mention: Karlee Ahrenholtz (Jr.), Ballard; Matty Beerbower (8th), Ballard; Ellen Castle (Jr.), Boone; Addie Ehlers (Fr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Aubrey Furnal (Fr.), Carlisle; Natalie Hansen (Sr.), Winterset; Zoey Hightshoe (Fr.), Boone; Emily Hlas (So.), ADM; Meredith Hoffman (So.), Carlisle; Isabella Johnson (So.), Ballard; Julie LaRue (Jr.), Carroll; Grace McDonald (Sr.), Winterset; Ashley Onken (So.), Carroll; Kaylee Seitzer (So.), Bondurant-Farrar; Aniston Smith (Fr.), ADM; Grace Stewart (Sr.), Perry; Sierra Wyant (So.), ADM.

*Denotes unanimous selection.

RRC Coach of the Year: Rick Dillinger, ADM.

Final RRC standings

Carlisle 13-1

ADM 12-2

Winterset 9-4

Ballard 9-5

Boone 5-8

Bondurant-Farrar 4-9

Carroll 2-12

Perry 1-13