The North Polk girls’ basketball team put two players on the all-Heart of Iowa Conference first team in 2017-18.

The Comets had six players overall receive all-HOIC recognition after tying Nevada and Greene County for the conference title. All three teams finished 12-2 in the conference.

Freshman guard Maggie Phipps and sophomore post Jaedon Murphy were the two North Polk players named to the first team. They were joined by Nevada’s Lexy Koudelka and Hattie Rhodes, Roland-Story’s Jenna Clark and Juliann Clark, Gilbert’s Sarah Hinners and Prairie City-Monroe’s Regan Freland.

Phipps averaged 17.7 points, shooting 41 percent from the field, 71 percent from the line and making 36 3-pointers in conference games. She also averaged 4.1 rebounds, 2.6 assists, 2.2 steals and 1.6 blocks.

Murphy produced 13.0 points, 6.6 rebounds, 1.6 blocks and 1.6 steals per HOIC game. She shot 50.4 percent from the field and 73.1 percent from the line.

Juniors Katie Brown and Katie Scott both were named to the all-HOIC second team from North Polk. The other second-team selections included Nevada’s Kacie Rewerts, Roland-Story’s Madison Friest, South Hamilton’s Marla Grubb, PCM’s Lilli Baird, Greene County’s Lauryn Lyons and Saydel’s Katie Schmidt.

Brown averaged 9.3 points, shooting 41 percent from the field and 85 percent from the line against HOIC opposition. She made 21 3-pointers and also averaged 3.0 rebounds and 2.3 steals.

Scott tallied 3.2 points, 3.4 assists, 1.6 rebounds and 1.4 steals per conference game. She also made eight 3-pointers.

Senior forward Rebecca Ley and junior reserve forward Carolyn Steffen were the two Comet players named all-HOIC honorable mention.

Ley put up 3.5 points, 5.3 rebounds and 2.7 steals per HOIC game. Steffen averaged 1.9 points and 4.3 rebounds.

All-HOIC girls’ basketball teams

First team: Lexy Koudelka (Sr.), Nevada; Hattie Rhodes (Sr.), Nevada; Maggie Phipps (Fr.), North Polk; Jaedon Murphy (So.), North Polk; Jenna Clark (Sr.), Roland-Story; Juliann Clark (So.), Roland-Story; Sarah Hinners (Sr.), Gilbert; Regan Freland (So.), PCM.

Second team: Kacie Rewerts (So.), Nevada; Katie Scott (Jr.), North Polk; Katie Brown (Jr.), North Polk; Madison Friest (Sr.), Roland-Story; Marla Grubb (Sr.), South Hamilton: Lilli Baird (Fr.), PCM; Lauryn Lyons (Sr.), Greene County; Katie Schmidt (Sr.), Saydel.

Honorable mention: Riley Mailey (Jr.), Nevada; Amanda Fortmann (Jr.), Nevada; Rebecca Ley (Sr.), North Polk; Carolyn Steffen (Jr.), North Polk; Susie Weaver (Jr.), Roland-Story; Madeline Morton (Fr.), Roland-Story; Kenzie Miller (Sr.), Gilbert; Emma Bulman (Fr.), Gilbert; Sydney Friest (Jr.), South Hamilton: Anna Moss (Sr.), South Hamilton; Camryn Wignall (Jr.), PCM; Morgan Uhlenhopp (Jr.), PCM; Samantha Hardaway (Sr.), Greene County; Izzy Bravard (So.), Greene County; Hannah Bowman (Sr.), Saydel; Jayda Tolentino (Sr.), Saydel.

Final HOIC standings

North Polk 12-2

Nevada 12-2

Roland-Story 12-2

Gilbert 7-7

South Hamilton 6-8

PCM 5-9

Greene County 2-12

Saydel 0-14