Four members of the Ballard volleyball team were given all-Raccoon River Conference honors after leading the Bombers to a 5-2 conference finish in 2017.

Seniors Olivia Vier, Ana Vier and Mykelann Gray, and sophomore Hannah Elliott were all recognized by the conference coaches. They helped Ballard finish the conference behind only Adel-Desoto-Minburn and Bondurant-Farrar, both of whom went 6-1.

Olivia Vier was one of four players unanimously named to the all-RRC first team. The others were ADM senior Jordan Hook and Sami Schepers and Boone senior Claire Sandvig.

Olivia produced 152 digs and 144 kills at outside hitter in conference play. She also came up with 21 blocks and nine aces.

The other players named to the all-RRC first team were Carlisle’s Amie Berndt, Perry’s Johanna Diw, Winterset’s Grace McDonald and Bondurant-Farrar’s Grace Hintze and Kaitlyn Tidman.

Ana — Olivia’s twin sister — was chosen to the all-RRC second team at middle hitter. Ana was joined on the second team by Bondurant-Farrar’s Devyn Atzen and Macy Bailey, ADM’s Amy Gottschalk, Boone’s Jessica Lewis and Kinsie Zinnel, Carlisle’s Meredith Hoffman and Carroll’s Maddie Rotert.

During RRC competition, Ana put up 102 kills on a .332 kill-efficiency rate. She also tallied 35 digs, 29 blocks and three aces.

Gray and Elliott were named all-RRC honorable mention.

Gray recorded 233 digs at 7.52 digs per set in conference matches. She also finished with 10 assists and four aces.

Elliott took over at setter and handed out 167 assists at 5.39 per set in conference matches. She also delivered 54 digs, seven kills, five aces and two blocks.

Bondurant-Farrar’s Raymond Sauer was named the RRC Coach of the Year.

All-RRC volleyball teams

First team: Jordan Hook (Sr.)*, ADM; Claire Sandvig (Sr.)*, Boone; Sami Schepers (Sr.)*, ADM: Olivia Vier (Sr.)*, Ballard; Amie Berndt (Sr.), Carlisle; Johanna Diw (Sr.), Perry; Grace Hintze (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Grace McDonald (Sr.), Winterset; Kaitlyn Tidman (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar.

Second team: Devyn Atzen (Sr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Macy Bailey (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Amy Gottschalk (Sr.), ADM; Meredith Hoffman (So.), Carlisle; Jessica Lewis (Sr.), Boone; Maddie Rotert (Sr.), Carroll; Ana Vier (Sr.), Ballard; Kinsie Zinnel (Fr.), Boone.

Honorable mention: Hannah Elliott (Jr.), Ballard; Mykelann Gray (Sr.), Ballard; Josi Lonneman (So.), ADM; Kameryn O’Connor (Jr.), Bondurant-Farrar; Sidney Vancil (Sr.), Perry.

*Denotes unanimous selection

RRC Coach of the Year: Raymond Sauer, Bondurant-Farrar.

Final RRC standings

ADM 6-1

Bondurant-Farrar 6-1

Ballard 5-2

Boone 4-3

Carlisle 4-3

Carroll 2-5

Winterset 1-6

Perry 0-7