WAVERLY - The Collins-Maxwell cross country teams both placed two runners in the top 10 individually as they each finished in the top three at the Iowa Star Conference meet Oct. 12 at Wartburg College in Waverly.

The Collins-Maxwell boys had five runners finish in the top 20 to place second to Dunkerton in its first-ever ISC meet. The Spartan boys scored 48 points to just edge out rivals and former teammates Baxter by two points for second out of nine scored teams behind Dunkerton’s 34 points.

“We thought that we would finish third just behind Baxter,” Collins-Maxwell head cross country coach Jerry Meinerts said. “We knew that we would have to run an almost perfect race and our boys were up to the challenge, finishing in second place as a team. This was the first time that our boys’ team has beaten the Baxter boys. They were all pretty pumped!”

Different scoring rules prevented Collins-Maxwell from winning the meet. Only the top four runners from each team were scored, instead of five.

Every Spartan runner ran his season-best time for Collins-Maxwell at the meet.

Max Van Maanen and Carter Fricke were the two Spartan boys to earn all-ISC recognition with a top-10 finish. Van Maanen ran a 5-kilometer time of 18 minutes, 11 seconds to place eighth and Fricke came in 10th at 18:15.

Jacob Pierick stepped up with a 14th-place time of 19:08 and Frank Sposeto IV took 16th in 19:16 as the other runners to score for Collins-Maxwell. Noah Rhoades ran a 19:54 to place 20th in what normally would have been the final scoring spot for the Spartans, putting him well ahead of Dunkerton’s fifth runner — Will Fettkether, who placed 38th.

Carter Davis took 32nd in 20:58 and Addison Swaab 42nd in 22:10 as Collins-Maxwell’s other varsity competitors.

In the girls’ competition, Collins-Maxwell scored 54 points to edge Clarksville by four points for third out of eight scored teams. Baxter won the girls’ title with 34 points and GMG took second with a score of 47.

The change in the team scoring system had no effect on the girls’ final standings.

“It was really a fun race to watch our girls represent the new Collins-Maxwell Spartans,” Meinerts said. “During the race everyone was focused, determined and dedicated to doing the absolute best they could. I saw some really good finishes tonight as well, as several girls were able to catch someone during the last 100 meters.”

Mikayla Houge and Olivia Pasquariello both made all-ISC for the girls. Houge finished seventh with a 5-kilometer showing of 22:02 and Pasquariello clocked in at 22:28 to place 10th.

“Mikayla Houge, in her first year in cross country, earned all-conference honors with her fastest 5K ever,” Meinerts said. “What a year Olivia Pasquariello has had. Last year she primarily ran JV for us, and has now stepped up in a big way and earned a spot on the all-conference team.”

Abby Husak took 17th in 23:05 and Whitney Spencer 20th in 23:24 to complete the scoring for the Spartan girls. Tori Bienfang came in 25th at 23:55, Shasta Moody 26th in 23;57 and Morgan Day 28th with a 24:01 showing.

Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking won the ISC girls’ individual title in 20:12 and GMG’s Kyla Wilkening came in second at 20:16. Don Bosco’s Zach Nile was the boys’ individual winner in 16:51 and Baxter’s Ian Thomson and Logan Berg came in second and third with respective times of 17:22 and 17:27.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. Baxter 34 points, 2. GMG 47, 3. Collins-Maxwell 54, 4. Clarksville 58, 5. Tripoli 60, 6. Colo-NESCO 128, 7. North Tama 141, 8. Riceville 155.

Boys: 1. Dunkerton 35, 2. Collins-Maxwell 48, 3. Baxter 50, 4. GMG 61, 5. Don Bosco 63, 6. Colo-NESCO 116, 7. Riceville 142, 8. Valley Lutheran 142, 9. Clarksville 150.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Collins-Maxwell

Girls: 7. Mikayla Houge, 22:02; 10. Olivia Pasquariello, 22:28; 17. Abby Husak, 23:05; 20. Whitney Spencer, 23:24; 25. Tori Bienfang, 23:55; 26. Shasta Moody, 23:57; 28. Morgan Day, 24:01.

Boys: 8. Max Van Maanen, 18:11; 10. Carter Fricke, 18:15; 14. Jacob Pierick, 19:08; 16. Frank Sposeto IV, 19:16; 20. Noah Rhoades, 19:54; 32. Carter Davis, 20:58; 42. Addison Swaab, 22:10.