Two members of the North Polk baseball team were given all-state recognition by the Iowa Baseball Coaches Association, and another Comet received the Landy Peterson All-Academic Award in 2017.

Senior catcher Matthew Antle was awarded the Landy Peterson Award. In addition to his brilliance in the classroom, Antle threw out seven base runners in 12 attempts and hit .308 with 15 RBI, helping the Comets win 25 games and tie for the Heart of Iowa Conference championship in 2017.

Sophomore Colten Parkins and junior Colby Cupp were the two North Polk players given the all-state nod by the IBCA. They were both named to the Class 3A second team.

Parkins went 5-2 with a 1.35 earned-run average and 77 strikeouts against only 19 walks in 51 ⅔ innings. He also hit .330 with five doubles and 24 RBI.

Cupp was a utility pick on the 3A second team.

Cupp hit .409 with 28 runs, 16 RBI and 11 steals. He also went 6-1 with an 0.90 ERA, 38 strikeouts and 20 walks in 39 innings at pitcher, and made 52 assists and 28 putouts defensively.

The IBCA 3A first team was made up of: Vinton-Shellsburg’s Nathan Struve and Will Edwards; Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s T.J. Heineman and Ryley McGregor; Carlisle’s Nic McCay; Pella’s Jaden Rolffs and Tyler Hillman; Union’s Cael Lambe; Bishop Heelan’s Colin Kasperbauer and Matt Nelson; Solon’s Luke Ira; Algona’s Grant Goche; LeMars’ Keaton Candor; Bondurant-Farrar’s Tanner Bedier; Fairfield’s Cameron Baumann and Davenport Assumption’s Daniel Powers and Trenton Wallace. Wallace was named the 3A team captain.