Seven area softball players were given all-state recognition by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association in 2017.

Ballard had three players named all-state by the IGCA after placing second in Class 4A. Collins-Maxwell-Baxter put two players on the 2A all-state first team and another make honorable mention after ending the regular season ranked No. 1 and North Polk had one individual honored in 3A.

Senior pitcher Abby Carlin and her battery mate — freshman Skylar Rigby — were both named to the 4A first team by the IGCA.

Carlin went 23-4 with an excellent 1.34 earned-run average, 223 strikeouts and just 17 walks in 188 ⅓ innings on the mound for the Bombers in her senior season. She was also a potent weapon at the plate, hitting .421 with a .503 on-base percentage, .694 slugging average, 13 doubles, one triple, six home runs, 18 runs and 47 RBI.

Rigby hit .410 with a .535 OBP, .697 SA, 21 doubles, one triple, four home runs, 14 steals, 51 runs and 27 RBI as one of the best leadoff batters in the state. At catcher she had 279 putouts, 14 assists and just four errors.

The other 4A first-team selections included: Benton’s Angie Gorkow; Boone’s Dianna Slight and Laura Anderson; Burlington’s Mia Ruther; Carlisle’s Taylor Dubois; Dallas Center-Grimes’ Brooke Kramer; Des Moines Hoover’s Madisen Blackford; Fairfield’s Brynna Bowman and Kaylee Watson; Independence’s Mackenzie Hupke; Keokuk’s Michaela Davis; Mount Pleasant’s Bailey Johnson; Norwalk’s Alyx Witt and Amron Born; Oskaloosa’s Alexis Groet; Perry’s Emma Olejniczak and Johanna Diw and Winterset’s Macy Johnson.

Freshman second baseman Isabell Hobbs was named to the 4A third team from Ballard.

Hobbs hit .390 with a .426 OBP, .610 SA, 11 doubles, two triples, four home runs, six steals, 37 runs and 42 RBI. She had impressive putout and assist totals of 52 and 50 respectively on defense.

CMB pitchers Mikayla Houge and Abbey Kahler were both named to the IGCA 2A first team. They were joined by: Alta-Aurelia’s Abby Kraemer; Beckman Catholic’s Amber Boeckenstedt; Central Springs’ Hannah Ausenhaus; Columbus Catholic’s Taylor Hogan; Durant-Bennet’s Cathy Ralf and Kamryn Meyer; Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s Haegen Boyer, Randie Richmond and Claire Jager; Highland’s Kelsey Hora; I-35’s Carlyn Stanley and Josie Wickett; Logan-Magnolia’s Kylan Straight; Louisa Muscatine’s Randyn Carter; North Union’s Anna Ingalls; Pella Christian’s Emma Schnell and Elizabeth Van Manen and Iowa City Regina’s Sarah Lehman, Emma Corkery and Katie Bracken.

Houge was a perfect 15-0 on the mound with an 0.97 ERA, 148 strikeouts and 21 walks in 94 innings during her freshman year. She also hit .421 with a .486 OBP, .621 SA, 11 doubles, one triple, two home runs, three steals, 16 runs and 27 RBI.

Kahler went 10-6 with a 2.09 ERA, 137 strikeouts and 18 walks in 97 ⅓ inning as a senior. She was also a big weapon at the plate, hitting .337 with a .432 OBP, .533 SA, nine doubles, three home runs, 15 walks, eight runs and 32 RBI.

CMB senior second baseman Mikayla Eslinger was named all-state honorable mention in 2A.

Eslinger hit .326 with a .402 OBP, .576 SA, six doubles, one triple, five home runs, three steals, 23 runs and 25 RBI. On defense, Eslinger made 32 putouts and 25 assists.

North Polk senior Rebecca Rimathe was named to the 3A second team.

Rimathe posted a .375 batting average, .429 OBP, .740 SA, five doubles, 10 home runs, three steals, 27 runs and 30 RBI during the season. On defense she made 52 putouts and 22 assists.

The IGCA 3A first team was made up of: Albia’s Hannah Isley and Jena Lawrence; Atlantic’s Ally Anderson and Alexis Handel; Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley’s Kaitlyn Van Der Zwaag; Center Point Urbana’s Katelyn Banning and Maddie Carr; Clarke’s Vanessa Bakley and Sydnee Redman; Davenport Assumption’s Nicole Timmons, Emma Valainis and Hannah Kelley; Humboldt’s Ellie Jacobson; Mount Vernon’s Libby Ryan and Sammy Moss; Prairie City-Monroe’s Jayci Vos; Sioux Center’s Jessica Herald; Solon’s Bryn Hanrahan and Jess Heick; Union Community’s Peyton Parker; West Delaware’s Maleah Georgen and West Marshall’s Kallie Malloy.

Winterset’s Steve Corkrean (4A), Assumption’s Ron Ferrill (3A) and Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s Tony Fenton were all named Coach of the Year in their respective classes by the IGCA.