Nine of North Polk’s, and one player from Collins-Maxwell-Baxter were given all-Heart of Iowa Conference recognition in girls’ soccer by the conference coaches in 2017.

North Polk put four players on the all-HOIC first team and three on the second after winning the conference with a perfect 4-0 record. The Comets also had two players named all-HOIC honorable mention.

Joy Smith, Courtney Bonewitz, Emily Larson and Danielle Bonewitz were named to the all-HOIC first team from North Polk. Smith scored 35 goals and dished out nine assists, Courtney Bonewitz tallied 12 assists and nine goals, Larson contributed 10 goals and seven assists and Danielle Bonewitz delivered nine goals and 11 assists.

The other first-team picks were: Nevada’s Abby Stephenson, Kaylee Kruschwitz, Holly Coogler and Izzy Kapustka and Gilbert’s Olivia Stearns, Molly Laws, Emily Branson and Jazlyn Cornelius.

Hannah Becker, Gracie Harmeyer and Katryn Halterman were the three Comet choices on the all-HOIC second team. Becker finished with four goals and three assists, Harmeyer was a valuable part of a defense that produced 14 shutouts and Halterman contributed three goals and four assists.

CMB’s Tatum Tremain was also picked for the all-HOIC second team. Tremain led the Raiders with 14 goals and she also had one assist.

The other all-HOIC second-team selections were: Nevada’s Skye Borton, Grace Francis, Abbie Lindsey and Hattie Rhodes; Gilbert’s Hannah Thatcher, Eva Steckelberg and Erin Kimle and Prairie City-Monroe’s Caitlyn Walters.

Sawyer Elwell and Riley Murphy were the two North Polk players named honorable mention. Elwell only gave up six goals all season at keeper and Murphy dished out two assists.