The Volunteer Center of Story County presented the 11th Story County Youth Volunteer Awards on April 27.

Awards are presented in Elementary, Middle, High School and College categories. The award presentation took place at Gatherings in Nevada. Award recipients received a framed, award certificate signed by the governor and lt. governor of Iowa at the presentation dinner. Eric Hanson, a Roland-Story native, and KCCI reporter, spoke to the attendees as keynote speaker.

The Roland-Story Elementary Character Council received a plaque in recognition for its service. Other nominees are Ally Phillips, Grant Phillips, Riley Schaack and Dane Wilson.

The plaque recipients in middle school are Erin Murphy and Katerina Bradley. Other nominees are Keiko Husiman, Julia Marks and Syrenna Weltha.

The high school plaque recipients are Sophie Roberts, Girls Scouts Troop 28/150, and Nahla Atroon. Other nominees are David Kim, Alyssa Schaeffer, Nevada High School FFA, Ben Hornbuckle, Cassie Wilson, Lawton Wright and Evan Heggen.

The plaque recipients from the college category are FarmHouse Fraternity and Haley Rudish. Other nominees are Benjamin Dralle, Sigma Alpha, ISU Women’s Soccer Team and Lauren Mallott.

The event was sponsored by Renewable Energy Group, Hicks Tax & Accounting, Rippke Design, Dogtown University, Cyclone Awards, Ames Ford Lincoln and Roseland Mackey Harris.

“Thanks to the record number of nominations, it was an inspiring evening celebrating the compassion and enthusiasm of young people in our community,” says Anne Owens, VCSC executive director.

The VCSC has always been a nonprofit organization, which has been serving Story County for 35 years. The VCSC inspires, educates and mobilizes volunteers to address community needs in Story County. It is a partner agency of United Way of Story County and is a member of the Points of Light and HandsOn Network, the largest volunteer and citizen action network in the country.